blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

On Blogging

with 6 comments

“Mary” who commented on my last blog post, asked me, rather harshly, I think, why I blog. I’ve addressed before that I view this blog as a journal. Sometimes, I’m more inclined to write than others, and thus, the breaks between blogging episodes. What I’ve written about before is how when blogging becomes journaling, the issue about private thoughts becoming public ones can be frightening. While I enjoy it when people read and even more when they share their own thoughts, it really doesn’t matter to me if anyone reads it or not.

The same commenter, for reasons unknown to me, took my blog post about how fascinated I am by the science of the brain to mean that I elevate science over God. Maybe I do, but I think that most people in our society, if they were honest with themselves, do to some degree. When people get sick, sure, they’re very likely to pray for healing, but they are just as likely (if not more so), to make sure they take their medicine, visit the doctor, have tests done, etc. But God, in whatever form that Spirit might exist, can just as easily work in and through science. They don’t have to be mutually exclusive, and in my opinion, they are not. Can one not be fascinated with science and at the same time be fascinated by spiritual things? I’ve read my blog over and over and tried to find where I intimated anything that would indicate otherwise.

What really hurt me is that “Mary” attempted to speak from a standpoint as if “she” had some insight into what kind of due consideration and struggling I’ve given to my spiritual state and my beliefs about God. I know for a fact that “Mary” and I have not had any significant conversations about what I believe and what I don’t. And even if we did happen to land on different sides of the God issue, I certainly would not be as accusatory and harsh toward “Mary” as “she” was to me.

And finally, if “Mary” thinks I’m really not a Christian or not spiritual, then “her” tone and delivery in chastising me for not believing as “she” does certainly did nothing to win me toward wanting to be “her” kind of believer.

So I think I’ve addressed the content of the post. Now, I want to address the sender… when I finished reading what “Mary” wrote, I was dumbfounded that someone would post such a mean-spirited comment about such an innocuous post. And I had my suspiscions that “Mary” was a pseudonym, but I just responded immediately, answering the question about why I blog.

Then it dawned on me, “Mary” is probably a Facebook friend of mine since that’s where I was posting my update links. And then I remembered that I can see IP addresses below the name of each commenter. Then, in a bit of sleuthing, I traced the IP address to where “Mary” is staying at a hotel in Chicago. I happened to remember that a “friend” of mine was staying at that particular hotel for work, and we had even had a little back and forth about it on one of “her” FB posts.

So, “Mary,” I want you to know that you really hurt my feelings. A real friend would not have been as mean-spirited as you were in your message. I have no idea what I might have said, done, or written to make you respond so caustically. As a matter of fact, I thought we were on our way to becoming better friends. Apparently, I was wrong. Additionally, if you had something to say to me, I wish you could have done it, if not to my face, then at least not hiding behind a pseudonym.

I want you to know that you’ve also put our mutual friend in a very awkward situation because she knows who are too, and is as confounded about your comment as I am. So if your intent was to spur me toward being a believer like yourself, I assure you, you had quite the opposite effect. And while it probably won’t matter to you,  you’re no longer a Facebook friend either. Buh bye!

Written by blogicalinks

August 18, 2009 at 6:47 pm

Posted in Whatever

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. re the last line – LOL! 🙂

    It IS a big scary what “anonymous” posters are capable of doing. I’ve had a couple of VERY weird people say and do some really weird things (on the other place I spend too much time). The just plain ole “meanness” is what surprises me most about this kind of …. well, crap.

    If a poster DID know you (or took the time to read your blog) they’d know how you have struggled with and pondered and considered God and religion.

    This person (“Mary”) just has an agenda of his/her own. Please don’t let the post affect your blogging.

    Laura

    August 18, 2009 at 6:58 pm

  2. I am glad you take time to share your thoughts with others. You are good at writing down what you are thinking in an interesting way.

    Nancy Jones

    August 18, 2009 at 7:01 pm

  3. Amen! And blog on… 🙂

    Dianne

    August 18, 2009 at 10:53 pm

  4. I, for one, am glad we’ve become FB friends; I’m enjoying getting to know you thru FB, and find your posts and blogs interesting and thoughtful. It’s not easy putting yourself out there, but with the vulnerability comes a certain strength.

    Why oh why must we judge? And I speak to myself as much as others – I’m learning every day not to judge. Hopefully I am, anyway.

    And I agree – who can say that the Spiritual is not able to abide in science in addition to everything else in and out of the universe?

    Write on, sister!

    Lori S

    August 18, 2009 at 11:05 pm

  5. And speaking of silence… Mary’s silence is deafening. I assume Mary was put in “her” place by all of your loyal blog readers?

    Dianne

    August 28, 2009 at 12:07 pm


Leave a Reply

