blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Ch-ch-ch-changes

with 3 comments

changes_bowieI just finished my usual Thursday conversation with my folks. I know I speak now from the standpoint of someone relatively young (relative to them) and  still engaged in things that keep my mind active. I say this because, someday, I will probably fall into the pattern they find themselves. However, even knowing all of that, sometimes, it’s mind-numbing at how my dad can go on and on about the most mundane of things.

Today, the unfortunate target of his obsession was the cable company. Apparently, their cable company (for reasons I’m not aware of) switched the numbers of the stations from where they had been. They were informed of the impending change in a letter they received with their bill. But like many of us, my mom just paid the bill and did not read the letter, and, therefore, was  surprised when the change occurred. In talking to a neighbor who had read her letter, she realized what had happened.

Now to hear my dad go on and on about it, you’d think this change was in some way attached to their health or their finances or the church or SOMETHING important. Even though my mom borrowed the letter (which contained the new listings)  from the neighbor, took it to church to make copies for herself and other neighbors who didn’t have one, and left the list on the table next to where they sit to watch TV, the whole ordeal was upsetting to my dad. His solution? “I’m ready to throw a brick through it.” (I presume he meant the TV, since I don’t know that a brick thrown by an 81-yr-old man would actually do much harm to a cable box .)

Then he started his litany of the channels: “34 is now Oxygen, 62 is BET, 24 is WE…” and so on, with my mom in the background saying “You don’t even watch those.” It’s true. He watches three channels, maybe four, tops… Fox News, ESPN, Animal Planet, and Discovery… but he feels it necessary to make me feel the pain of the newfangled numbering system.

Now I’m on my cell phone and using up minutes to hear him recite a list of channels I don’t get, don’t care about, and wouldn’t remember even if I did care about them. So finally, when he took a breath, I interjected with a positive thought, “You know, if this is the biggest gripe you have today, then you’re actually a lucky man.” He didn’t say much after that.

This is just one example of the type of calls I listen to when they really have nothing to say and are just wanting to make conversation. I’m more patient than I used to be with these kinds of calls. For a long time,  I thought the calls were actually about the conversation. Now I know it’s really more about just connecting, checking in, showing that you’re willing to spend time on both sides to hear each others’ voices.

And I’ve always known that my parents, unlike me, have rarely embraced change of any kind. I’ll admit, I don’t like to get blindsided, but I like to shake things up sometimes, to get out of my rut, to try new things. And if change happens for a reason I can buy into, more often than not, I’m all for it.

So what about you? Does change bother you or do you like it? Do you seek it out or avoid it?

Written by blogicalinks

August 13, 2009 at 7:15 pm

Posted in Whatever

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like change. I like stability in some things, but realized a few years ago that I take more risks than many people. I like to shake things up sometimes too. 🙂

    “I’m more patient than I used to be with these kinds of calls. For a long time, I the calls were actually about the conversation. Now I know it’s really more about just connecting, checking in, showing that you’re willing to spend time on both sides to hear each others’ voices.”

    This is BIG! That realization is progress! Congrats!

    Laura

    August 13, 2009 at 8:21 pm

  2. I think the folks that change the cable TV channel lineup are the same folks that rearrange everything at the grocery store.

    I like change, too, although there is a lot to be said for routine. Actually, I like the mundane to be routine (like getting ready for work in the morning), and everything else can change at will.

    Kudos on the enlightenment with your parents. I had that a few years ago – I actually told my folks I didn’t want to spend my long-distance money to hear them argue. They’re much better about it now, but even when they do, it’s still just comforting to be able to hear BOTH of their voices on the phone.

    Eric

    August 14, 2009 at 8:53 am

  3. I’m not a fan of change at all. 😦

    As much as I love Pixie, having a new puppy is rocking my world because my routine has changed. I’m adjusting and would not trade her for anything, but I don’t roll with the punches like I used to. I’m afraid I may end up fussing about cable channels when I’m old.

    Dianne

    August 18, 2009 at 4:14 pm


Leave a Reply

