blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Blame It on the Rain

with one comment

 

Two males and a female using Kimmy's back yard as their spa.

Two male and female mallard ducks using Kimmy's back yard as their spa.

It’s Saturday, and it’s been raining all day today, and on and off for about three days now. When trying to find some good in lots of rain, I’ve heard it said, “Well, it’s good for ducks.” In Kimmy’s low-lying back yard, apparently, the ducks took it to heart! This was taken with my little point-and-click camera from about forty yards away, so it’s not a great picture, but I wasn’t willing to sacrifice my shoes to wade through the mushy yard to get a better photo. 🙂

In other news, my news fast didn’t last very long. I haven’t read much about politics or the economy (other than checking the stocks every day), but I’m still drawn to the macabre news. Just can’t seem to help it.

I’ve done very well on my diet since Thursday. What motivated me more than seeing my weight on the scales was seeing myself in a photo someone took of me last week. I look like the octomom in her third trimester!!

Kimmy and I have been together for four months, and we’re planning for our first vacation in May… probably somewhere along the Georgia/South Carolina coast, taking photos of lighthouses and touring historical places. It’s amazing how much we like doing the same kinds of things. The only big difference we think we’ll have in travelling together is that she is a hotel snob, and I’m not. When I’m on vacation, I don’t usually stay in the room long enough for it to be that important. As long as it’s a clean room and comfortable bed, I’m fine. She prefers something more extravagant. As long as she’s willing to foot the bill for the difference, I’m fine with that. 🙂

While we’ve had our moments of disagreements and misunderstandings, I’m so comforted by how easy it is to be with Kimmy. While she gets stressed out about work and other things, in our relationship, she’s so laid back and easy going with me and about us… and that’s a good thing for someone who worries so much like I do. I’m learning to really relax and trust what she says about how she feels about me. It’s such a great feeling to love and be loved by someone with such equal reciprocity.

Speaking of taking photos, last week, quite by accident I discovered  that I can use my detachable speedlight (flash) as a remote light source. I’m so excited! That means I can use it as a light source from a direction other than one originating directly in front of my camera! That will make a lot of difference in the way some of the photos come out, especially the ones that are more portraiture and still life photos. I don’t think it will affect landscape images too much, as they are mostly dependent on natural light anyway.

I had a great time directing and taking pictures recently in a photo shoot for a work project. I asked for employees to volunteer their kids or other kids they know in grades K-12. We had a decent response, and I got several really good shots. They’ll be used on our Web site and in our upcoming catalog. While it was time comsuming and is now creating deadline stress for me on the Web project, I think it was still a success. And I learned a lot about studio shooting from one of my co-workers who does that kind of photography in a much more serious way than I.

I’m excited that he and another co-worker invited me to join their photography club, Southeastern Photography Society. My first meeting will be next Friday night. They also have “learning” meetings too, so I’m hoping to soak up some good information at that.

Well, I think that’s about it for now. I think I’ll go pack my life jacket and 40 days worth of Power Bars. I’m pretty sure Noah will be swinging by any moment. 🙂

Oh yeah, bizarre little piece of trivia….in my blog stats, do you know what word is most commonly search for that lead people to my site? Gravestone. Go figure. 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

March 28, 2009 at 1:06 pm

Posted in Whatever

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gravestone?? That’s funny.

    You are drawn to the macabre news like you are to horror flicks. You should investigate that. LOL!! 😉

    Dianne

    April 6, 2009 at 11:42 am


Leave a Reply

