blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

West Side Story…Ehn

with 4 comments

images1I finally had the time and level of boredom this afternoon that allowed me to watch a movie musical I’d never seen, West Side Story. Granted some of the choreography was good, but honestly, I didn’t see what all the fuss has been about. I had the same feeling after watching Citizen Kane a couple of years ago…like, why in the world is this movie consistently in the top 10 of great movies? So-so acting, decent choreography, and a story line lifted from Romeo and Juliet (so it wasn’t even original). And the street gangs? Most of the Jets looked like they couldn’t beat up Eddie Haskell from Leave it to Beaver! Add to that, the fact that they pranced more than danced menacingly, and some of it was just laughable.

Of course, Natalie Wood is just a joy to watch in almost any movie, and her song with Tony “There’s a Place for Us,” was moving. However, I found out that neither she nor Richard Beymer are doing their own singing, so that kind of even takes the shine off that penny.

So, have you seen West Side Story? What did you think of it? Was it something you saw long ago and just have fond memories of, or if you saw it today, would it stand the test of time?

Written by blogicalinks

March 15, 2009 at 3:02 pm

Posted in Whatever

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I watched Jaws in the theater when it first came out (ok – dating myself) It really scared me. It was a blockbuster movie of the time. I just saw it again a few months ago and can’t believe that the movie was even a hit much less scared me so badly. The special effects in movies have come a long way!

    KJ

    March 15, 2009 at 5:32 pm

  2. In 9th grade i did an English class report comparing West Side Story to Romeo & Juliet, which meant i had to watch the movie. I had to rent the movie on VHS and sit through every godforsaken hour of that thing. I was completely unimpressed. Now, i was like 15 of course, so i was unimpressed by most anything, but that one was pure torture. I’m no fan of musicals to start with, but this one took the crap cake as far as i was concerned. I totally agree with you, i have yet to figure out the draw with this one. I also remember that i had to go to the main downtown library to the special music section to find the complete lyrics to all of the songs for my report…it was quite an ordeal, and they didn’t really want me touching their precious WSS lyrical archives 😉

    Anonymous

    March 16, 2009 at 12:07 am

  3. I saw it long ago and do not have fond memories of it. 🙂

    Dianne

    March 19, 2009 at 10:15 am

  4. I saw West Side Story in the theatre when it was first released (yes I am old). I was mesmerized because of the dancing. It was not about Natalie Wood for me but Rita Moreno. I wanted to be her – to dance gloriously on a rooftop to “I Want to Be in America” and to be sexy and have all eyes on me dancing in a gym. Alas, it was not to be but I can watch her dance and dream again.

    Becky

    April 13, 2009 at 9:28 am


Leave a Reply

