blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Cooler Heads Will Prevail

with 8 comments

coolersI know, I know… the title of this post is a terrible, terrible pun (and an awful situation), but ever since I saw the story about five severed heads being found inside coolers in Mexico, I’ve wanted a blog post with this name. So sue me. ๐Ÿ™‚

What’s really scary is this story about how the ultra-violent Mexican cartels are moving like crazy into Atlanta, specifically, into Gwinnett County. Where is it that I live? Oh yeah, Gwinnett County. Ay Carumba!!

Other random things:

Come on, Baby, Light My Fire
Well, on Tuesday afternoon at work, I started smelling something that smelled like rubber burning. I asked the others sitting in the large room where I work if they smelled it. Two of them did immediately, the other did seconds later. We realized others were walking around trying to find the source of the smell. Suddenly, the fire alarm sounded, and we (contrary to what we’re told to do) hurried to get our purses, and joined the others filing down the stairwells. I resisted the urge to Stop, Drop, and Roll, like I’ve always wanted to do during a fire drill, but since this was no drill, I stayed a tad more serious. We’d been outside for just a couple of minutes when two fire trucks show up, and firemen go into the building.

Overall, it was about a 30-minute ordeal, and apparently it was just a small fire in the ceiling of the second floor. Either it burned itself out quickly or ย something else, because there was no obvious damage, and not even a smoky smell left today. Hopefully, whatever it was was fixed. Hopefully.

Start With Yourself… Please!
Oy vey! These nutballs who go around shooting pastors while they preach, wiping out their family and others, taking out fellow students and teachers and THEN killing (or attempting to kill) themselves. I have a message for you… for God’s sake, people, start with your frickin’ selves if you want to kill someone. The rest of us would like to hang around a bit longer!! And don’t get me started on assault rifles!! Arrrgghhh!!! (clenching teeth)

13697667A Real Page Turner
Kimmy surprised me this past weekend with a great book An Incomplete Education: 3,684 Things You Should Have Learned But Probably Didn’t. It reminds me of another book I have called Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About American History, But Never Learned. I look forward to using it to procrastinate for many enjoyable hours. And I thought it was so sweet of her to surprise me with such a nice gift for no special reason. ๐Ÿ™‚

No News is Great News!
Okay, I’ve had it! I’m done! Starting tomorrow, Friday 13th, I’m going to go on a “news fast” for at least a month! I have had it with hearing nothing but bad news about things which I can do absolutely nothing about. It does nothing but bring me down, make me anxious, strip me of hope, and a number of other undesireable things. I trust my friends who have a greater capacity for this kind of crap to tell me if I need to know something; otherwise, I will not watch news, read news, read political blogs, etc.

In the mean time, I’m going to concentrate on the things I can control…being productive and innovative at work (my contribution to the economy), being a better friend and neighbor (my contribution to community and peace), do something “green” (my contribution to a better environment), READ more (my contribution to my intellectual development), and be more active (my contribution to a healthier life). Depending on how this goes, I might even decide to volunteer for something. I’ll let you know how it goes.

How about you? Does the endless cycle of bad news affect you?

Written by blogicalinks

March 12, 2009 at 8:05 pm

Posted in Whatever

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I gave up on TV news a few years ago. Nowadays, I subscribe to a number of RSS feeds, like Fox News, AJC, etc., and I just pick and choose the articles I want to read. It keeps me saner that way (and less likely to grab that assault rifle…).

    To be green, I would suggest you get some reusable bags for your groceries, but then I remember that you don’t go into that big building. But if you do choose to go that route, I highly recommend Chico Bags (http://www.chicobag.com). I started using them in December and love them. My favorite feature is that they fold into little pouches and clip together.

    If you’re going to read, you can’t beat the new Amazon Kindle. I love mine, and I’m thinking I might have to buy your book suggestion for it.

    And if you want to volunteer, talk to me. I can hook you up with the Dogwood Festival, Habitat, or our Boxer Rescue (there’s lots to do without ever handling a dog). Or if you just want some other ideas, I’ve got loads of experience in this arena. My favorite organization is still Hands On Atlanta – a great clearinghouse for connecting people who want to volunteer with organizations that need them.

    Eric

    March 12, 2009 at 8:24 pm

  2. Ok! So the drug crap in Gwinnett scares me! I am over the economy. You are absolutely right we can’t control what is happening so why worry about it. With all of this being said I am completely addicted to the news and I do not even know why. I think I am facinated with the crazy people in the world. Something is wrong with me! Your friends that don’t know me are completely worried about who you are hanging with now.

    Anyway, I think I am going to take a break from it also. So heres my deal. No news! Read more! Exercise and sorry I could say volunteer but I would be completely lying! I will try that one later. Baby steps.

    Tina

    March 12, 2009 at 8:44 pm

  3. Working in tv news will turn you off of it really quickly, especially after you quit. It was a good several years before i watched local tv news in particular again. Imagine having to hear that crap 3 times a day, plus all the stories that don’t make it to the air. Exhausting! I still don’t watch it much, only the weather really, and that’s rare too. I do read some stuff online, but i pick and choose that too.

    And i never heard that mexican beheading story, in fact i won’t even read what you linked…seeing your photo and your brief description was enough for me ๐Ÿ˜‰

    As for your fire story, i too once experienced a fire at work, though it was really terrible smoke-wise. No flames, but the floor warped in an area from the heat (it started in the basement i think), and we were forced to sit inside a completely smoke-filled newsroom for the rest of the day/evening to get the 10 o’clock news on the air. I’m quite sure i’ll have some sort of lung cancer to blame on them some day for making us do that ๐Ÿ˜‰

    wenzday

    March 12, 2009 at 11:23 pm

  4. I’ve pretty much stopped watching local news. Seems so stupid sometimes. I dunno – don’t think I can give up my Charlie at 7 and ET at 7:30 (I know the second one doesn’t qualify as “news” ๐Ÿ™‚ )
    I hate for print newspapers to have problems, but reading online is fine with me. I LOVE reading the Clayton tribune online – once a week edition. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Volunteering? Probably should do more but the church keeps me busy with “a little bit of this, a little bit of that”. I could hook you up with a NP that’s doing good stuff – the Family Refugee Services if thats your cup of tea. Literacy centers are everywhere too.
    Glad you got to use your title – although that’s very weird and very scary.

    Laura

    March 13, 2009 at 4:25 am

  5. I rarely watch news now. I have to just catch it because I have turned on the TV if I’m going to see it. I never actively seek it out anymore. It’s all depressing. It seems they find the worst of everything, make it a bit more catastrophic, and then air it. Why? I really don’t understand that. I don’t know if it exists, but I’ve always wanted to start the GNN (Good News Network) that only shows stories about the good in life. What is the harm in showing when a boy scout helps a little old lady across the street as opposed to the guy who shoots his family and the preacher? These days, it seems like the boy scout is the rarer occurrence. That’s one thing I like about Laura’s blog – she takes the time to post life’s simple pleasures like watching two dogs curl up on the same bed in a ball of cuteness. I know that inspires drinking in Cara, but it keeps me aware that it’s the happy little things in life that make it worthwhile.

    I’m glad to say that I have not heard any of those news stories posted unless one of them is the kid in Alabama that shot a bunch of people. The others are not ringing a bell with me. That’s good.

    That book sounds awesome. I may have to get a copy of that too.

    I love that paragraph about your contributions to various things. It’s inspiring!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Dianne

    March 15, 2009 at 11:30 am

  6. Love the Blog title! Good one! Totally agree about all the negative news. I try to catch as little as possible and still see the weather. Anyway, check out this website, it only contains happy positive news: http://www.happynews.com/

    KJ

    March 15, 2009 at 5:10 pm


Leave a Reply

