blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Fabulous Weekend

with 2 comments

top_en2

You know how some things/events are so built up in one’s anticipation that it rarely exceeds (or even meets) one’s expectations? Like Christmases with the family SHOULD be Rockwellian, but ends up being more Dickensonian? And when that happens, the feeling of disappointment is what is left.

Well, fortunately, that did not happen for me this weekend!! First of all, I’m consciously making an effort to let go of trying to control things so much—starting first with those things that I can’t control in the first place…the actions of friends, the economy, my employer’s decisions—and also with those things I have a little bit of control over, but which exhaust (and sometimes, disappoints) me in the process.

So in spirit of the the laissez-faire attitude which I’m cultivating, it is becoming easier to appreciate what IS happening, rather than on what SHOULD (not) have happened or what MIGHT have happened. I wonder how I let myself get to a place of being so guarded and needing to be in control of my circumstances. I’m pretty sure a lot of it has to do with my dad, but it is what it is, and I know I can correct the course now, so I’m not going to worry about the origins or placing blame.

ANYWAY, it all kinda started on Thursday night, when Kimmy cooked chili, and we had friends over to play cards. These are friends of Kimmy’s and I enjoy that she’s wanting her friends to become my friends (as I do my friends to become hers as well). I really do enjoy her friends. They’re smart, funny, interesting professionals….like my friends. 🙂

Kimmy arranged for a friend to be at her house with her dogs for the weekend, so that she could spend that time at my house. She’s been very “whatever you want to do” since this is really my birthday celebration, and that’s been very nice. Fortunately, it seems like we enjoy doing very similar type things, so I don’t think she was having to do anything she didn’t want to…other than disconnect her hand from her Blackberry every now and then. 🙂

So Friday night, we just enjoyed spending some alone time together, then Saturday morning, we slept in and enjoyed a McDonald’s Big Breakfast. Later, we did a little shopping, and then went for a walk on the McDaniel Farm near my house. On the way back from our walk, we picked up some steaks and vegetables for grilling and a couple of movies to watch. So we ate and watched The L Word and Saw….eclectic viewing, I know. 🙂 After eating our steaks, we enjoyed ice cream… a luxury we rarely afford ourselves.

Sunday, we slept until 9:00ish and then had brunch at J.Christopher’s with Jane. After brunch, we went to Jillian’s and played a few rounds of pool and some video games. After another brief shopping trip, we came home and got ready for Kooza, one of the performances of Circque du Soleil. It was so wonderful!! We had great seats, and the sights and sounds of the whole thing were amazing, but the talent of the performers was incredible. My favorite was the juggler, but all of the participants were fabulous.

After Kooza, we met some friends at Cafe Intermezzo, where we enjoyed the food and the company. I had a Waldorf Salad sandwich which was trés tasty!!

This morning (Monday), I’ve taken the day off work, so I was able to sleep late again. Kimmy needed to be logged in to her classes, so my sleeping late has worked out well with her need to work today. After lunch, we’re walking again and watching another movie. We’d originally planned to go to the High Museum, but today feels more casual and relaxed than that, so that’s what we’re gonna do.

All in all, it’s been a great weekend/birthday celebration that has included great weather, friends, good food, exercise, experiencing new things, watching movies, shopping (which was actually fun), sleeping late, and alone time with Kimmy….and that is the best part of it all, being with someone who cares so much about me. And while we had plans, we allowed ourselves to be guided by what felt good and right at the time, not by some predetermined schedule. There’s nothing wrong with planning, and I still prefer it to not planning, but realizing that the serendipity of the surprises is as good as (or better than) the plans is a nice thing to be learning…even at my advanced age. 🙂

In the words of my friend, Laura… life is good.

Cara, you know what to do. 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

February 9, 2009 at 1:53 pm

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “…we picked up some steaks and vegetables for grilling…”

    Well, i guess that answers my question of “hey, how’s that vegetarian stuff going?” 😉

    wenzday

    February 10, 2009 at 10:43 pm

  2. And, of course, Brian Andreas has a story that matches…
    From storypeople.com (the actual print is wonderful)

    If you hold on to the handle, she said, it’s easier to maintain the illusion of control. But it’s more fun if you just let the wind carry you.

    Laura

    February 16, 2009 at 2:22 am


Leave a Reply

