blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Already Another Week in Review

with 2 comments

Okay, so I’ve already fallen behind in my plan to write a post a week. Honestly most of the delay came from not feeling well for two solid weeks. I was pretty miserable, but feeling much better now. The delay now has come from either being at work and/or not being at my house much. 

I’ve spent every night at Kimmy’s this week, except for last night. It keeps me off the internet more when that is the case because I don’t carry my laptop back and forth. Kimmy travels a lot during certain parts of the year, so tonight, I’m staying at her house to take care of her dogs and cat (and this time, I brought my laptop!) She won’t be coming back in until tomorrow night, and her friend who usually takes care of them is out of town. I guess it’s a girlfriend responsibility to watch after the kids when the mom is away. 🙂

I changed my Facebook status today from “single” to “in a relationship.” It was surprising the sweet little comments I got. It’s nice to feel like people care about my happiness. I wish I could gush about Kimmy and us, but I’m trying to be discreet and sensitive for reasons that I won’t go into here. Suffice it to say, I am really happy, really enjoying the relationship, and don’t want to screw this one up. 🙂

A few comments about the week:

I believe it was last Saturday that was the 25th birthday of the first Apple computer. Even if you’re not an Apple/Mac lover like I am, I think it can safely be said that the ease of use that the first Macs provided helped usher in the personal computing revolution. I know it certainly changed my profession. Basically every tool I learned for graphic design while in college was obsolete five to ten years after I graduated!

Having had to work with PCs at my last two places of employment, I will say that I’ve come to a realization, I don’t care how closely a PC tries to approximate the way a Mac functions, it just doesn’t. The fonts are clunky, the navigation is not as intuitive, the finder/desktop is especially atrocious, and much more. The one positive I’ve found is that PCs don’t freeze as much as I’d been lead to believe they would.

I’m glad my friend Donna put up a Caring Bridge site for updates about her mom. Those of us who know and love Donna want to be apprised of their situation as much as we can be, but we don’t want to bother them either. Whoever came up with that concept/site has done a wonderful service for a lot of people who are probably having a hard enough time as it is, just trying to get through their situation. I’ve followed two other people closely…one is the son of a former boss of mine who almost lost his life in a fire. His mother wrote faithfully for almost two years about his recovery ordeal, and it has truly been amazing to read of how far gone he was and know where he is now. The other is a friend of one of my current bosses. She is a young woman who suffered a type of stroke called an AVM. Again, she was near death, and after almost nine months now, is still on a very slow and painful road to recovery. 

Say what you will about the internet… it definitely has its dark side, but when used for purposes like this, it almost makes up for the bad stuff.

Well, I would love to write more, but my laptop is getting excruciatingly hot!! I think it needs to cool off for a while. I know I do!!

Written by blogicalinks

January 30, 2009 at 11:14 pm

Posted in Whatever

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Every tool I learned for graphic design while in college was obsolete a year after I graduated!

    I have been living on CaringBridge lately. I have four sites there that I’m monitoring. 😦

    Dianne

    January 31, 2009 at 12:30 am

  2. I’m so happy for you that you’re in a good relationship! 🙂 You know what they say: one you go Mac, you never go back. Caring Bridge is very helpful. There is a lot of good things on the internet that cancel out the bad, IMO.

    Carmen

    February 1, 2009 at 5:19 pm


Leave a Reply

