blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

A Bedroom View of History Being Made

with 4 comments

I took 1/2 day off from work to take care of some errands, some work, and also to be able to watch the inauguration, from the comfort of my bed…unlike the brave/crazy people who actually went to DC to stand for hours in a crush of people in the bitter cold. Geez!

I am a patriotic person in general. I love what it means to be an American, despite the flaws of her government and her people, the mistakes that have been made, promises broken. But overall and across history, I believe there is more to be proud of than not. I often tear up when I hear the national anthem (even though I don’t like it very much), and I’m moved when I hear Lee Greenwood’s “God Bless the USA.” I’m sure I could be a happy person living somewhere else in the world, but I really have no desire to consider that as something I’d want to try (moving from Alabama to Georgia was traumatic enough). So I’m proud of my country and overall, always have been.

Today, my pride swells like never before. I, of course, have no idea what this day, this event, feels like to black people, to anyone who has felt like an outsider…those who felt that the promises and opportunities this country affords were not available to them. This pride comes not only for believing that EVERY American can now feel like they are part of the whole, but also that they have a reason to invest their best back into the country. The feeling that this moment will be the beginning of change for the direction of America, not so much as a government, but as a people…the way we view ourselves, our neighbors, those who look like us and who look different from us, those who live in our borders and those who don’t.

I know I’m rambling, because it’s hard to put “hope” into words. It’s hard to describe what it feels like to know that you’re living in one of the big leaps forward in an evolutionary time. A little over two hundred years is not that long when measured against the span of history, but in that time, the US has come from being a country willing to fight to keep black people slaves to having a black man as the head of that country. This gives me great hope for our evolving collective conscience.

I’ve always said that a President, other than having veto power and the power to declare war, does not actually have that much “power” to change things, not in the judicial or legal sense. But he is the face of America to the rest of the world. Bush seems to have done more to damage our global relationships more than any president I can recall. I believe that Obama’s election shows the world that the stubborn, militaristic, lack-0f-diplomacy approach to global relations is not what we want… we realize that cultures shift, empires rise and fall, and that we’re all connected to one another whether we want to be or not! We MUST learn to live with one another if we are to survive in an age of nuclear (not nucular) weapons.

Okay, so I’m late getting started on what I need to do. I just had to mark this moment with a blog post. Feel free to write your feelings about it all. I’d love to hear it.

Written by blogicalinks

January 20, 2009 at 9:45 am

Posted in Whatever

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I never thought I’d live to see the day when people were excited about an inauguration speech. That in itself is amazing enough. I’m going to watch at my friend Eva’s place. She’s in her late 60’s, old enough to have had her afro dented by cops in civil rights marches. She’s declared her intentions to have a few celebratory cocktails, her stories today should be epic.

    Now for my pessimist view…two words: Rick Warren. Not only is he praying today (at Obama’s request!) he was snuggling up to African-American leaders at the MLK celebration yesterday. Watching bonding over their mutual bigotry gives me little hope for any “evolving consciousness.” It’s fundie crazies 2.0 as far as I’m concerned. I do have hope Rev. Lowrey’s presence will show what a spiritually devoid t*rd Rick Warren is.

    On a sort of related note, a drunken patriotic soldier once set fire to my clothing while waving a bic and singing “Proud to Be An American.” God Bless America. Thanks for the reminder, I’m gonna go make an iPod playlist of inauguration day music.

    Cara

    January 20, 2009 at 10:26 am

  2. I was never this excited to watch an inauguration. I think it was not just that we voted in a peaceful and inspiration man, and not only that he is our first black president – also a huge step for America which also brings me a lot of hope, but to say goodbye to a president/administration that preyed on fear and destruction and gave our country such a bad reputation around the world. Wow, that was a long sentence. I’m excited to see some positive change.

    Carmen (boxercab)

    January 29, 2009 at 11:39 pm

  3. inspirational, woops 🙂 No more long sentences for me.

    Carmen (boxercab)

    January 29, 2009 at 11:40 pm

  4. I watched the inauguration with my 2-1/2 year old grandson – quite an experience. He love Itzhak Perlman and immediately turned all thing boxy and sticks into a violin. He was enthralled with President Obama (or, as Bryson calls him, Unca Obama). I have no idea if Bryson will remember a single moment – he might. But I wanted to try – maybe, just maybe, he will remember the day his Nana cried at how far we have come since she was his age but grieving over how far we have to go. Maybe he will remember the enormity of the moment because his Nana squeezed him tight and whispered in his ear, “Remember this.” And, just maybe, Bryson will cry on inauguration day in his lifetime because a woman, or a gay person, or an Hispanic, or someone of Middle Eastern descent was sworn in as president and he was overwhelmed at how far we had come in his lifetime.

    Becky

    January 30, 2009 at 7:15 pm


Leave a Reply

