blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Too long

with 6 comments

Sure, there are reasons for why I haven’t posted for so long, and they range from apathy to being busy, from having nothing to say to having so much to say I haven’t known where to start, from laziness to distraction.

I have a New Year’s resolution to lose a reasonable amount of weight in a reasonsable amount of time, but I think I’m going to add another resolution to write at least one post a week this year. So to start anew, I am also changing the look. I’ll try it on, wear it around for a while, and see how it fits. Do you think it makes me look fat? πŸ˜‰

I used to love to blog, and I still love to read other’s blogs, but sometimes, it’s just hard to come up with something that I want others to read. There are things that have happened to me in the past few months that I wanted to share, but as I’ve fretted over before, it’s hard to know the line between writing for myself and writing for my readers.Β 

I believe the thing that will keep me writing consistently is to tell myself that I will write this blog as if speaking to a dear friend who wants to hear about the minutiae of my life…who wants to celebrate my accomplishments and who wants to share my disappointments. That way, I can be real and honest, but also keep my readers in mind.

For the last month, I’ve been terribly distracted by a new person in my life. I haven’t been very forthcoming about it with my friends, neither privately nor through such a public forum. But do not mistake this quiet for lack of excitement, for uncertainties about our future, nor any negative thing. It’s about just taking time alone to enjoy something that feels good and right and special. As time goes on and as our relationship unfolds…both in reality and on this blog…you will come to know this person as well. So stay tuned. πŸ™‚

Work has been amazing. I’ve been at Horizon for 14 months now, and in that time, I’ve had my hard work recognized and rewarded with words of appreciation, with awards, and monetarily. I realize in this troubled economy how fortunate any of us are to have a job. It is truly a blessing to have a job I enjoy so much and which is in a place to be able to provide us with a good living. I have also come to be good friends with many of my co-workers, which makes it all that much better.

My parents seem to be aging exponentially, and every time I visit, they’re a little slower, a little more stooped, a little more forgetful. It’s hard to watch. It’s frustrating to not know if I’m doing what I need to be doing. It’s scary to think of what might be waiting for all of us in the next few years. In the middle of it all, it makes me miss my sister that much more…wishing I had her to turn to for advice, wishing maybe I had some nieces and nephews who could be grandchildren to my parents, providing the joy in their old age that I have not given them. I try to keep it all in a one-day-at-a-time perspective, but sometimes, that is hard, especially for a worrier like me. πŸ™‚

I’m about to start my next tennis season in a couple of days, playing in the winter mixed doubles ALTA league. I practiced on Tuesday night with my partner. While I held up okay for two sets, I realize that the two months off have taken their toll on my fitness. I’m looking forward to getting back to some semblance of playing well. I have, however, quit my bowling league. As much as I enjoyed being with my teammates and the actual bowling, the lateness of the start time really started to get on my nerves. I’m sure I’ll miss it, but not so much that I’ll have regrets.

The end of college football season is always a bummer of a time for me. I do enjoy the actual football, but I LOVE the getting together with friends (large groups and small) to watch the games. So because I don’t want to lose the socializing that I really love, I want to work hard at keeping our game nights going…to keep touch with old friends and to make new ones.

Speaking of friends, I read Dianne’s blog today and read the post that she wrote on Christmas day. She wrote kind and touching comments about some of her many friends, and I was fortunate to be included in that list. Fortunate, because it is always a blessing to have friends…to have them and to be one to others. I’ve heard two very good quotes about friends: Friends are the family you chose for yourself and Friends are God’s way of apologizing for your family. πŸ™‚Β 

There’s something special about good friends that is different that even a close relationship with family…friendship has to be nurtured more than family ties, which tend to be more obligatory, even when good. So another resolution of mine this year is to make sure that I nurture my friendships better this coming year than I did last year. In what ways that nurturing will manifest itself, I’m not sure, but I’ll try to be creative and consistent about it.

I love you, blog family, and other readers. I hope those of you who honor me by dropping by to find out about my life know that you mean a lot to me and that you will feel free to comment whenever you want. I look forward to starting this back up again and interacting with all of you.

I hope you all get what you need and most of what you want in the coming year.

Written by blogicalinks

January 2, 2009 at 5:57 pm

Posted in Whatever

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post. πŸ™‚
    I like the new layout and no, I don’t think it makes you look fat! LOL!!!
    The stuff about your parents is really scary. I’m watching mine age too and the thought of what aging leads to is terrifying to me.
    I look forward to more blog posts and more blog family adventures this year!!

    Dianne

    January 2, 2009 at 10:37 pm

  2. Yay for the new look and yay for the new posting resolution πŸ™‚ I always like to know what you’re up to without bugging you with too many emails, so that’s why i tune in.

    And i thought i’d give you another friendship quote that i think originally, in part, came from a kitty cat/precious moments type poster i had on my wall when i was little which i then partially plagiarized in 7th grade when an assignment was given to write something about friendship: “A friend is a gift you give yourself.” That little gem is my gift to you πŸ™‚ And yes, i was that profound in 7th grade…you should have seen me in 8th πŸ˜‰

    wenzday

    January 2, 2009 at 11:08 pm

  3. Ha, apparently i like to do it up right when i plagiarize…it would appear that the quote originally came from Robert Louis Stevenson. Boy, and i thought i was clever too. Sadly my 7th grade teacher had absolutely NO clue. Hmm, i’m now left questioning my entire public school education and moral fiber. Dang, maybe i need a blog after all to sort this crap out πŸ™‚

    wenzday

    January 2, 2009 at 11:12 pm

  4. Wenzday, So glad you’re still around, giving a flip about what I have to say. πŸ™‚ And YES, you need to have your own blog. You’re so danged funny, I’d be a regular reader for sure!!

    Dianne, we’ll all go through our hard times together. πŸ™‚

    Cheryl

    January 3, 2009 at 2:49 pm

  5. Wow I love your new blog design! It’s pretty. πŸ™‚ And welcome back. I will need to start blogging again too but I think I am still doing internship and a student at the school knows of my blog so I don’t want to blog until I’m no longer working there…

    Anyway. I move to Asheville in June and Lo has an Aunt in Atlanta so maybe we can meet up this summer? πŸ™‚

    titration

    January 5, 2009 at 12:55 pm

  6. I feel the same way as well when I see family. We aren’t a tall family to begin with and now it seems I’m nearing the tallest. I like the new blog. See you soon!

    Anonymous

    January 5, 2009 at 1:32 pm


Leave a Reply

