blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

What Month is This?

with 4 comments

Oy. I had no intention to stay away from blogging so long! I have had some interesting things going on my life–some I want to share, some I don’t–so I can’t believe I’ve waited so long to write something! Oh well, I’ll try to do better.

Anyway, what’s compelling me to write is that I want to share some good news. I got another promotion today at work, and a nice raise. I’m now manager of the entire Creative Team. I’m moving into a much more administrative position, rather than creative. As a matter of fact, the creative part was listed in my job description as more of “and you’ll be doing some of this too” kind of thing. I’ll be working closely with the VP of Marketing to establish production schedules, assign jobs, keep people on task, on schedule, and within budget. I think I’ll be doing enough design to keep me interested. We’ll see.

So I’m excited about that because I’ve been working so hard lately, and it’s nice to see it paying off. Horizon is really good about rewarding hard work, both with a career path and financially. And lately, they’ve also been letting people go who are not performing up to expectations. While I hate to see anyone lose their job, it’s nice to see a business that doesn’t tolerate people who can’t/don’t perform up to expectations.

I don’t really mean to be tooting my own horn, but I wanted to share my news with the blog family. πŸ™‚

Hmmm, what else? I’m looking sooo forward to football season starting in less than two weeks!! Woo hoo!! The blog family is invited over Saturday night to watch the Alabama/Clemson game. I’ll send more information if you’re interested.

Weight Watchers: Well, I’ve kinda of stalled. I haven’t been exercising at all and slipping back into some bad habits, so I haven’t gained any more back, but I haven’t lost any more since the last time I lost either. I start back playing tennis at the end of August, so I’m counting on the exercise to get me back on track.

Bowling: I’m starting back to bowling tomorrow night. I’m looking forward to spending time with my bowling buddies, but not really looking forward to the late nights. Plus I have to see if my middle finger holds out. I don’t know if I have arthritis in it, or if I’ve pulled something, but it still hurts a lot when moved certain ways.

Photography: I’m looking forward to the weather cooling off so it’s not so ookie getting out to take photos. I’ve finally gotten around to printing several of my favorite pics. I have a really nice inkjet printer, so I get some good prints. It amazes me that I have a printer (that I only paid about $300 for) which makes such good quality images. It prints up to 2400 dpi, although I usually print at 1200, just for time’s sake. And frankly, unless you have an extremely detailed image, the human eye can’t distinguish the difference anyway.

Oh, and for those who helped me with my “which Web site design do you like best” survey a couple of weeks ago, one of my co-worker’s designs was chosen, so it was a moot point anyway. Fortunately, I thought his was very good, and mine was a close second, so I don’t feel bad about it. πŸ™‚

I think that about catches me up on things I want to share. I hope the rest of the blog family will start writing more regularly too. Laura, you’re the only non-blagger in the bunch lately. πŸ™‚

Written by blogicalinks

August 19, 2008 at 7:39 pm

Posted in Whatever

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow – seems like you’re having some serious success there with all the raises and promotions. Congrats! Glad the rest of the stuff is going well, too. And for what it’s worth, although I’m not as profficent (sp?) at blogging as Laura, I don’t think I’m quite the blagger lately. I’m trying to get caught up!

    Eric

    August 20, 2008 at 9:05 am

  2. I know, I know. And, I’m totally BORED because of it.
    Y’all are SUCH a disappointment. 😦
    But, I’m writing mostly for myself as a kind of journaling, so I don’t mind too much.
    But, I MISS hearing about what’s going on with the Blog Family.

    That is SUCH great news about work! Congratulations. Big things doin’. You’re not bragging – you are sharing with your family – and we celebrate with you!

    Rain check on the football viewing. I’ll be in the general Plains area getting ready to hear “Jimma”. Can’t wait! (And, we know how closely I watch football games :-D)

    Glad you are getting busy again. Tennis. Bowling. Watch out for that finger. Don’t incur a life-affecting injury πŸ˜€

    Laura

    August 20, 2008 at 10:43 am

  3. Glad I figured out you had a new blog post. πŸ™‚ I am so excited for your news about work. Things seem to be going quite well.

    I too am one of those bloggers who have been a little more lax lately but in my case it means just writing less quality stuff. It is hard to keep blogging up isn’t it!

    titration

    August 22, 2008 at 10:13 am

  4. Confession: I use Carmen’s blog to spot new entries, since we’re all blagging, Eric and Laura aside. They’ve been holding down the fort admirably, especially with all their distractions. However, I must protest that if y’all were True Red-Blooded Americans, you would have been watching the Olympics instead of blogging…like me.

    Congratulations on the promotion! I’m glad you took your current job, you sounded so unhappy in a place that didn’t reward performance. No surprise you’re moving up now. πŸ™‚

    Cara

    August 23, 2008 at 10:12 am


Leave a Reply

