blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Summertime, and the Livin’ is….

with 3 comments

(Questions courtesy of RevGalPal)

1.) What first tells you that Summer is here?

2.) Name your five of your favorite distinctively Summer habits or customs.

3.) What is your favorite smell of Summer?

4.) What is your favorite taste of Summer?

5.) Favorite Summer memory?

6.) Extreme heat or extreme cold? Which would you choose and why?

7.) What books do you plan to read for the season?

1.) What first tells you that Summer is here?
If I was in a snarky mood, I’d say “the calendar,” but since my mood is good, I’ll say when it’s hot and humid outside at 7:00 a.m.

2.) Name your five of your favorite distinctively Summer habits or customs.
Love wearing shorts and T-shirts; watching fireflies in the trees at night; eating watermelon at the lake; (hmmm, I don’t think I have five that are “distinctly” summer)

3.) What is your favorite smell of Summer?
gardenias and freshly cut grass 

4.) What is your favorite taste of Summer?
watermelon and margaritas (not at the same time) 

5.) Favorite Summer memory?
Gosh, I have so many…I’d guess one of my favorites are the summers I was in college. I went to school every summer so that I could graduate early. I had great, laid-back classes and enjoyed my first romance. 

6.) Extreme heat or extreme cold? Which would you choose and why?
I can take extreme heat, as long as I’m not in direct sunlight, so while I’d choose neither, if I HAD to, I’d pick the heat. 

7.) What books do you plan to read for the season?
Still reading Flannery O’Connor’s stories, and a friend at work suggested that I’d really like John Grisham’s
The Painted House. I’ll probably reread The Poisonwood Bible as well. 

Written by blogicalinks

June 11, 2008 at 6:38 pm

Posted in Whatever

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1- bad – the humidity, good – it’s time to get the boat out on the lake
    2 –
    1) time on the boat 2) swimming in the lake 3)floating on a tube reading a book tied behind the boat on the lake 4) driving, with anticipation, to the 4th of July fireworks on the lake
    5 – eating a supper of garden fresh veggies, especially Silver Queen corn, squash cooked with onions, butter peas and tomatoes
    3 – honeysuckle
    4 – ripe juicy peaches
    5 – time on the farm with my grandmother and great-aunt and sitting under the mimosa tree playing “beauty parlor” in the afternoon when it started cooling off
    6 – neither but head over cold
    7 – Scott McClellan’s book, the stacks sitting next to my bed and the light fare I found recently and am reading just to escape

    Ru's Mom

    June 12, 2008 at 3:23 pm

  2. 1.) What first tells you that Summer is here?
    The smell of fresh cut grass
    2.) Name your five of your favorite distinctively Summer habits or customs.
    cookouts, swimming, kayaking, summer food like barbecue, catching the Braves on TV

    3.) What is your favorite smell of Summer?
    honey suckle, the ocean

    4.) What is your favorite taste of Summer?
    hamburgers on the grill, corn on the cob, peaches, avocados

    5.) Favorite Summer memory?
    I spent most of my teenage summers in Florida on the beach playing in the surf, eating bagel dogs and corn dogs, and playing arcade games

    6.) Extreme heat or extreme cold? Which would you choose and why?
    Extreme heat. My body is more accustomed to it because I grew up in Florida

    7.) What books do you plan to read for the season?
    I’m reading ‘The Way the Crow Flies’ by Ann-Marie MacDonald. I usually read murder mysteries by the ones I was reading were starting to creep me out!

    Donna

    June 18, 2008 at 6:16 pm

  3. 1.) What first tells you that Summer is here?
    My power bill and the the feeling that I may spontaneously combust at any given moment.

    2.) Name your five of your favorite distinctively Summer habits or customs.
    No shoes. Getting in the lake.

    3.) What is your favorite smell of Summer?
    I don’t think I have one. I like the way Fall smells much better.

    4.) What is your favorite taste of Summer?
    Fresh fruit.

    5.) Favorite Summer memory?
    Going to the beach with my entire extended family – grandparents, cousins, great aunts/uncles… the whole bit. About 30 of us. 🙂
    Also, playing kick the can or spotlight in the neighborhood.

    6.) Extreme heat or extreme cold? Which would you choose and why?
    Heat. I can always put on more clothes, but there is a limit to what I can take off.

    7.) What books do you plan to read for the season?
    The fourth vampire book is coming out next month. I just finished Middlesex. I haven’t decided what I’m going to read while I’m waiting on the vampire book (name of which I can’t remember…)

    Dianne

    July 13, 2008 at 8:46 am


Leave a Reply

