blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Getting Better Every Day

with 6 comments

I weighed in again today and had lost another 1.8 lbs. I’m sticking to my points very closely, but I figured the first week would reflect more water weight loss, so I’m not surprised in the difference between this week and last week.

I have only been playing tennis once a week, and while that’s good exercise and I really enjoy it, it’s not really an exercise “program” like I need to have to supplement the dieting aspect. So I decided to start the “Couch to 5K” program.

I used to be a fairly avid runner in my late 20s and through my 30s. Somewhere along the way, I just kind of fell out of running regularly. And unfortunately, every time I’d try to get back into it, I’d have really bad episodes of plantar fascitiswhich would sideline me for several months, during which time, I’d lose the motivation to run.

About five years ago, I heard about the Couch to 5K method, which starts a runner out from being a non-runner to being able to finish a 5K in nine weeks. It begins with a combination of walking and running for about 20 minutes, and it eventually adds distance and more running/less walking over the course of the workouts (three times a week). Since I tend to “overdo” when I start something like this, I thought it was a good way to avoid injury. Unfortunately, my foot didn’t agree, and again, I had to quit at about week five because of plantar fascitis. I’m just keeping my fingers crossed for this attempt because I really enjoyed running, and I miss it a lot.

As to the title of the post, I feel sooo much better since I’ve started eating healthier. I have not had any fast food for three weeks and only a couple of soft drinks. My stomach issues are greatly improved, I’m not as tired as I used to be, and I’m saving a ton of money not eating out so much!! And the best thing about being on this diet is that I’m not at all hungry! I actually am eating more than I ever have. I’m just eating foods that satisfy me and are actually good for me. I really don’t miss anything that I’ve cut down on, and that frickin’ amazes me!!

With other diets I’ve tried (and it hasn’t been many), I thought about food all the time… what I was missing, when I would be able to eat again, etc. On this diet, I think about food because I need to have a “plan” so that I won’t eat poorly, but I don’t really think about the food in a craving or hungry way. I think that’s what is going to make the process something I can stick with.

Okay, enough singing the praises of Weight Watchers. 🙂

I was off work today and will be again tomorrow. The exciting things I’m doing while off you ask? Planting tomatoes, cantaloupe, and squash; getting my oil changed; having lunch with some former co-workers; and, of course, watching Golden Girls whenever it comes on. 🙂

How did y’all spend your Memorial Day weekend?

Written by blogicalinks

May 27, 2008 at 10:01 pm

Posted in Whatever

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey congrats with WW! I’m amazed that you even lost weight with the long holiday weekend. I already blogged about my weekend so I won’t repeat it here but that’s awesome you’ve got some time off. Enjoy, and I want a tomato and mayo sandwich 🙂

    Donna

    May 27, 2008 at 11:18 pm

  2. Congrats on your progress. I’m sure Carmen can give you all the 411 on the Couch-to-5K, too. She’s been doing it with much success.

    My Memorial Day weekend was good. I went to an antique auction on Saturday and added to my tool collection, took in another dose of RenFest with Dianne and Cara on Sunday, and worked/bummed around the house on Monday. I did make some barbecue beef for dinner on Monday, and it was pretty tasty.

    Eric

    May 28, 2008 at 8:09 am

  3. I didn’t do too much over the weekend. Spending time with Luis was my #1 priority since he’s so busy all of the time. We exercised and shopped a little and relaxed a lot. It was nice.

    I’ve been doing the C25k. I just heard about it a few weeks ago and was mulling it over in my head. One day, I just said to myself – just DO it. I have never been very athletic and I really didn’t know if I would be able to do it, but now that I’m almost done with week 4, I know I can do it. Luis was finally able to start it too. He just finished week 1. Good luck to you! I hope your foot sticks with it for you! Keep us posted.

    Eating healthy makes me feel so good too. Congrats on your diet!

    Carmen

    May 28, 2008 at 11:28 am

  4. Hey that’s great the 5k program. I’m going to look that up! And bravo on the whole weight watchers thing…

    titration

    May 29, 2008 at 7:05 pm

  5. Oh, plantar fasciitis, the bane of us ex-runners. I used to do the Peachtree road race until I developed a bad case. Some people run right through it, I personally don’t enjoy constant pain. Much as I loved running I found it became more of a negative experience.The Peachtree T-shirts still make me drool, though.

    My Memorial day was good, the Renfest 2.0 was fun. I did a nice post on my blog, got an error message when I pushed “post”, and swore off blogging for the week.

    Glad your WW diet is working even through the holiday weekends. A very good sign.

    Cara

    May 30, 2008 at 9:38 am

  6. Don’t know if you’ve tried orthotics for your shoes, but visiting the podiatrist and getting a pair i hear is the best bet in that regard. Also, they can give you a shot in the foot (cortisone maybe? i don’t remember which steriod it is) that can also help with the inflammation of plantar faciitis.

    However, i only run if something’s chasing me, so i can’t attest to how orthotics and the shot hold up to running 😉

    Good job on the WW though!

    wenzday

    May 31, 2008 at 12:32 am


Leave a Reply

