blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Neighbors

with 4 comments

Last night, Jane and I hosted 10 of our adult neighbors along with five children under the age of four. We had a cookout with burgers, hotdogs, and brats (which we supplied), and others brought salads and dips and such. It was a beautiful evening, and the conversation was lively and fun.

We talked about how we needed to pitch in to buy a house two down from me. It’s been allowed to become run down, and they’re only asking $175,000 for it. If it had been kept up, even in this market, it could probably fetch $220,000. We were throwing around the idea of all of us buying it, flipping it, and making some money.

My neighbors really liked our deck, and the lady who lives across the street wants the contractor’s name so that she can contact him about some work she wants done. I’ve always said, word of mouth is the best advertising there is, assuming the opinion is good, of course.

We started the get together around 6:00, and the last people left at 10:45ish. That made me feel good, that while we only see each other in passing and while working in yards and such, when we have the chance to socialize, we enjoy one another’s company.

Of course, the company can’t rival the blog family’s, but I like having friends close by as well.

And in a few hours, I have to go to a tennis team get together. We were hoping to get to play tennis afterwards, but I’m thinking the rain might not hold off long enough. I’d really like to get a set in, just to have some activity.

Speaking of, I’ve done really well on my first week of Weight Watchers. My first weigh-in will be Tuesday at lunch. One of the neighbors last night heard Jane and me talking about points, and she said that she’d lost 55 lbs. two yearsI will let y’all know one way or the other if I’ve lost (or gained).

Written by blogicalinks

May 18, 2008 at 12:36 pm

Posted in Whatever

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I must say that I have a little bit of deck envy myself about your deck.

    Karen

    May 18, 2008 at 11:46 pm

  2. Funny I just finished a conversation about house buying. It seems a lot of people are talking about such things. Either because of the mortgage crisis or because for some it’s a good time to buy.

    titration

    May 21, 2008 at 12:18 am

  3. We keep talking about buying the vacant house next to us with our neighbors. It just went under foreclosure, yipee!

    How was the weigh in?

    Carmen

    May 21, 2008 at 3:55 pm

  4. OK, I’m cracking up at the first two sentences about five kids and “brats.”

    Dianne

    July 13, 2008 at 8:48 am


Leave a Reply

