blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Weight Watchers

with 7 comments

Well, I finally took the plunge and started attending WW. Jane’s been at it for a couple of weeks, and since she’s making the good food choices for herself, and since she’s such a good cook and willing to share with me, I thought it would be the perfect time to lose some weight.

We are both doing the Flex Plan, which does not require that you eat or not eat certain foods. It’s based on a point system where everything has points, even the exercise. So nothing is really “off limits” but everything has to come off of your total points for the day, so you don’t want to blow your whole day on, say, an ice cream sundae! (Well, you might WANT to, but you shouldn’t.) I like that the booklet that you get to record and check off your food feels like “gold stars.”

Our first goal is to lose 10% of our current weight, and then we both have an ideal weight goal. I think that doing this together is really going to help both of us be more successful and accountable. I’m not going to be able to attend meetings where Jane does (during work hours), because it’s too far for me, but fortunately, there’s one about 1/2 mile from where I work.

How about y’all? Any of you ever done Weight Watchers? Did you like it? Did it work for you? I’d like to know.

Written by blogicalinks

May 13, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Posted in Whatever

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve never done WW. Friends have. Good luck to both of you.
    Your mention of ice cream sundaes made me laugh. I bought dessert “goodies” for Sunday because the nephews were supposed to come. Granddaddy always bought me a Nutty Buddy every afternoon when we went to the general store to get the mail (We NEVER had ice cream at home). I bought the Mayfield version in honor of Granddaddy. No hungry boys to eat them up. I had one last night for “supper” along with the last of the Mother’s Day leftovers. I’ve got to toss those things. They defnitely don’t “make ’em like they used to”! LOL!

    Since I have Dianne’s mirror I don’t really see the need for a diet. I DO need to take yoga or something to regain some flexibility though.

    Ru's Mom

    May 14, 2008 at 9:00 am

  2. I’ve never done Weight Watchers, but it has a good reputation.

    Why don’t you just leave the door open when Scout is around? I bet you’d lose a few pounds pretty quick.

    Cara

    May 14, 2008 at 7:03 pm

  3. Woh. Way to go! V. Impressive. I have never done weight watchers. This does remind me that I need to go running though!

    titration

    May 15, 2008 at 8:55 am

  4. I have never tried WW but I know many that have and had great results. Good for both of you! Keep up the good work!

    Carmen

    May 15, 2008 at 10:45 am

  5. Even though I was already within my ideal weight range,
    WW let me join with an ex some years ago because they find it is more successful when the whole household is involved. My ex had great results and it changed my life as well because I learned so much about nutrition. I was never so aware of what I ate until I started keeping track of it. I love their recipes and still use them to this day. Cara enjoyed a WW recipe for chicken fettuccini just a couple of weeks ago. Also I just made the WW recipe for ‘fried’ chicken just last week (the one where you bake corn flakes coated in chicken). Good luck to you both!

    Donna

    May 15, 2008 at 9:45 pm

  6. My Dad was very successful with WW. He got down to his target weight and stayed there. I wish you and Jane the same success! From everything I’ve ever heard and/or read, having a buddy helps immensely. Keep up the good work.

    Eric

    May 16, 2008 at 8:57 am

  7. Never done WW. I’m with Laura – that mirror is working fine. LOL!!

    Good luck!!!! I’m proud of you both!

    Simba

    May 20, 2008 at 11:06 pm


Leave a Reply

