blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

The Streak is Over

with 7 comments

Well, it was bound to happen. For the last several days, I’ve been feeling like almost every single thing was going my way…at work, tennis, life in general.

Today, however, was different. It started at lunch. I came home to check progress on the deck. The foreman told me that what I’d asked for regarding latticework was not going to look right. I agreed with him, but the change added $375 to the bottom line. Still a good overall price, but you know $375 is $375, especially when I wasn’t expecting to have to spend it. (Good news mixed in, they finished the deck a day earlier. It’s really nice.)

I hurried back to work, and because I had spent time with the contractor, I was running late, so I just grabbed some chicken nuggets from McDonalds to eat at my desk. I pulled into a space in the parking lot, opened my door, and then reached over to get my lunch off the passenger’s seat. Suddenly, BAM!!! I looked to my left, and the wind had blown my door open REALLY hard into the car door next to me. Of course, it was a black car, and my silver paint looked just dandy in the 10″ long streak and crease it put into it. I wrote a note about what had happened on the back of a business card and stuck it under their wiper. It was still there when I left at 5:00. I haven’t heard from them yet. Sigh.

So I got home and the guys were still here working; therefore, I couldn’t let the dogs into the back yard because the gate needed to be open as the guys went back and forth from their truck to the deck. I let Scout out of the garage to pee first, and I took his regular collar off and put the choke collar on him because I didn’t want him getting out of my control if the tool noises and such startled him. So he pees, and I take him back to swap him out with Maggie. I took the choke collar off, but didn’t put his regular collar back on. So I put Maggie on the leash. She pees, and when I opened the door to put her back in, Scout was right there. Maggie made a weird move that made us both kind of stumble.

Well, collarless Scout takes this opportunity to flee from his horrible, horrible life with me. Fortunately, before I started after him, I had the presence of mind to shut the door before Maggie could get out, but in just that second, Scout was off like lightning. I went running after him (still in work clothes and shoes). A neighbor girl sitting on the lawn with friends across the street saw what happened and asked me if I needed help to catch him. I yelled, “Sure!” So I was running after him and calling him, caling him sweetly, calling him commandingly. If he turned around to look (a couple of times), I knelt down and called him. He had suddenly gone totally deaf.

Of course, when he got to the main road, he runs right into the road and is back and forth in everyone’s yard. Fortunately, traffic moves relatively slowly through the subdivision, because he had no concept of the danger he was in.

He finally stopped in a yard where another dog was. I got about 15 feet from him, and he took off again. He even stopped in the middle of the friggin road to poop! I was close enough to see him as he did that, but he was so far ahead of me, I didn’t make it before he took off again.

I was running as fast as I could (which let me tell you, has never been that fast and is CERTAINLY not fast now!!). The neighbor girl was running with me the whole time.

Scout kept going in and out between houses, and was getting further and further from home. I lost sight of him a couple of times, but he always popped back out.

FINALLY, he came around from behind someone’s house, and stopped to pee in their yard. We just happened on him before he finished his business. The girl got to him before I did, and she got him by the tail and just held him for a few seconds before I could get there.

I was SO mad at him for totally ignoring me, but so glad he’d not been hurt or lost for good. I walked him holding onto the back of his neck. And just the walk back to the house bent over like that was heck on my back! I’m giving the girl a reward for helping me out.

As I left to get dinner tonight, I measured the distance from my door to the place we caught up with him. It was only 3/10ths of a mile, but OMG, it felt so much further. Running in slides as fast I could and being out of shape didn’t help it feel like a picnic either.

Anyway, all are safe and sound, the deck is finished, and so far, no call from the dented door person. Maybe my luck is continuing after all. 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

May 1, 2008 at 10:07 pm

Posted in Whatever

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wish the person that had hit my car would have left a note! Instead I have a nice long streak of paint on my rear quarter-panel and a busted tail-lens to show for it. And I’m certainly glad that Scout is safe and sound at home.

    Eric

    May 2, 2008 at 9:06 am

  2. Whew, well the good luck may be over, but at least everyone is safe and I’m sure karma will be good to you for leaving a note on that person’s car. I wish more people would do that.

    Carmen

    May 2, 2008 at 12:14 pm

  3. Once I saw a truck scrape a car (or maybe it took it’s mirror off…I forget) Luckily it had a “call 1-800-…. whatever” number on it so I left the trucks ph. number and company in a note on the car it messed up along with my number. The dude was so grateful he wanted to buy me a beer. I said no but it is nice to know what struck you. Makes it better somehow.

    titration

    May 2, 2008 at 11:53 pm

  4. Oh, look, look, see Scout. See Scout run. Run, Scout, Run! See Cheryl chase him. Run, Cheryl, run! Sucks to be you, Cheryl!

    Scout likes roads. Scout must poop. No, Scout, no! Poor road! Poor cars! Scout must do his other business. Now Scout can not run. Jane and Cheryl can catch him. Hooray, Cheryl! Now Cheryl’s back is sad. Cheryl’s back does not say “hooray.” Cheryl’s back says “f&(k you b!t{h for running in slides!” Complain, Mr. Back, complain!

    Cara

    May 3, 2008 at 9:05 am

  5. Hey I tagged you for a meme. 🙂

    titration

    May 3, 2008 at 4:00 pm

  6. OMG, aside from the horror of having your dog loose in the street with no collar, that is a funny story when you mix it in with Cara’s commentary. 🙂 I’m glad it all turned out okay.

    Dianne

    May 4, 2008 at 8:41 pm


Leave a Reply

