blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Frankie Say, RELAX!

with 5 comments

I have had one of the most relaxing, all-around enjoyable weekends, I’ve had in a long time. First of all, I enjoy the weather this time of year so much…most of the pollen is gone, the rain often comes without storms, the days are warm and the nights are pleasantly cool. The dusk, when there’re still so many shades of blue-to-dark blue behind the suddenly visible stars, is my very favorite part of these days.

Thursday, of course, I got the news about the promotion, so that started the weekend off well. Thursday at lunch, I met a guy who’s going to build a deck off our back porch. He came in a couple of hundred dollars off the lowest of the range I’d budgeted for and $2000 less than what I would have been willing to pay. Hopefully, he’ll do the good job for me that his references say he’s done for them.

Friday when I got home, our house had been cleaned. Jane has hired a woman to clean our house once a week–vacuuming, bathrooms, dusting, etc. It was so nice to come to a clean house, knowing that we didn’t have to worry about cleaning it this weekend.

I cut several roses, clematis, and lilacs to make a bouquet for the hostess of the get-together we were about to attend. I have so much enjoyed the flowers in my back yard, in making the bouquets, and sharing them with others, as well as putting them in various rooms in our house. They’ve all peaked now, and it saddens me to see them losing their petals. But I’ll definitely take care of them so that I can revel in their fragrances and beauties again next year. What a joy they have been to me!!

So Friday evening, we enjoyed dusk in the wonderful company of one of Jane’s co-workers, Mary, and her husband Matt, who have a beautiful home in Alpharetta. They hosted a drop-in evening of wine, beer, cheese, salami, hummus, wings, dips, etc. Their large backyard looks like a mini-botanical garden, since apparently, Mary is quite the avid gardener while Matt loves to work with stone. There were winding trails lined by bedrocks and carpeted with soft bark. The yard overlooks a fairly high slope facing west, so we had quite a nice view of the sunset which, since it was cloudy, created some spectacular pinks and oranges stretching across the horizon.

Matt and I had met before, and our sense of humor is very similar, so we thoroughly enjoyed one another’s company. He’s written several children’s stories, based on the stories he told his two boys growing up, and he’s interested in getting them published. He wants me to take a crack at illustrating them. I haven’t gotten around to it, but I will.

Jane and I slept until we felt like getting up on Saturday morning. We sat for a long time on the back porch and drank coffee, talked, and relaxed.

I got online and ordered a grill and a covered swing. I figured that it would take a few days (according to the site 2-7 days), but they called and said they’d bring it between 10:00 and 2:00 Sunday. I thought that I’d put the grill together since I figured my tennis game would be rained out if the forecast held true.

Saturday afternoon, we watched TV and napped. Saturday night, we ordered Chinese, which we haven’t done in a long time. We thought about going to the WON party, but we were enjoying our vegging so much, we just continued it. 🙂 I got a lot of reading done in one of my books, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Sunday morning, we slept late again. Around 10:30, Lowe’s called and said they were on their way. Lo and behold, they wheeled an ASSEMBLED grill off the truck!! It was great, because while I could have assembled it, I didn’t really want to have to do it! I will have to put together the swing, but that’s not going to be nearly as complicated.

As expected, my tennis game was postponed, but the rain was also much-needed and much-welcomed. Another short nap, a good movie, and most surprisingly of all, I didn’t get a chance to make my normal Sunday-night call to my folks–my dad called ME and told me “congratulations” and that he was proud of me concerning my promotion. That made me feel pretty good. 🙂

I’d already decided that, in keeping with the slacker weekend, I wasn’t going to go to church. Apparently, my bad influence rubbed off on Jane, and she didn’t go either.

And now, I’m piddling around on the Internet.

I know this was not a particularly interesting post, and nothing particularly exciting happened, but I have thoroughly enjoyed this most relaxing weekend. I have a very busy week coming up, both at work, and at home, so I’m glad I’ve had a chance to rest. I look forward to next weekend too, especially Saturday night, which will be filled with fun, friends, and BBQ!!!

Written by blogicalinks

April 27, 2008 at 9:49 pm

Posted in Whatever

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay BBQ!!!!
    YOU say it’s not an interesting post – but I enjoyed it. Love to hear about great weekends, and yours sounded especially fulfilling. AND any weekend that includes delivery of a new grill HAS to be good! I’m glad someone else had as enjoyable weekend as I did.

    Eric

    April 28, 2008 at 5:38 am

  2. Woo Hoo can’t wait for Cue! Sounds like a great weekend!

    Donna

    April 28, 2008 at 10:49 am

  3. What a nice weekend! I’m loving this time of year too! Here’s to many more enjoyable weekends like this!

    Carmen

    April 28, 2008 at 12:56 pm

  4. I would like three of these weekends to order please. :). So glad you had a good weekend. I love weekends like that. Sigh.

    titration

    April 29, 2008 at 12:16 am

  5. Sounds like a great weekend! 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    April 29, 2008 at 9:29 am


Leave a Reply

