blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Blowing My Own Horn

with 7 comments

I won’t go into detail about the events of my day today like I did with Laura and Jane (poor them :), but today had a nice surprise in it. I got called into my boss’s office, and we discussed some things we’d touched on a few times in the past several days, things concerning how our Creative Marketing department is going, what’s coming down the pike, her vision for the department, etc.

Anyway, she mentioned that she was thinking of submitting to HR a request for my job to become a new position, one that would allow me to be the one to determine who gets assigned what work, maintaining production schedules, etc., but she said she’d like to think about it some more. I was totally fine with that, as I did not even know she was to the point of making it a position, although we’d discussed the duties before.

So I’m thinking the meeting is almost over, and I’m getting ready to leave. She said, “Starting Monday, I’m giving you a $XXXX raise.” (It’s a 3% raise, but I don’t really want to reveal my salary online. I’d tell anyone outside Horizon who asked, but we’re not supposed to discuss our salaries.)

Now this is on top of the 5% raise I got two months ago during my new hire review. I was stunned!! So I’m thankful for the raise, and I expressed to her how much I appreciate the money, but more than that, I appreciate the trust and confidence she is placing in me.

I leave her office and am tickled about the raise, but don’t really think that much more about it. Around 3:00, an email goes out to all of the marketing department, congratulating me on my promotion to Production Manager, Creative Services. This position does what I described above in addition to my graphic design responsibilities, and it moves one report under me. Also, I’m now at the same level as my former supervisor since I will be reporting directly to the Marketing Director.

Wow!! I thought she was going to think about it. I thought that meant a few days or weeks. Apparently, it meant a few minutes. I like a woman who can make up her mind! 🙂

And as an aside, I think one thing that’s made me so happy about all of this is that my hard work and experience is being rewarded with more authority and with financial compensation. As much as I loved WMU, there was really no place to go there, no incentive to be more than average. And the couple of times I had a shot at doing more, being more, I was screwed out of it. Those are long stories for another day, and I’m feeling too good to rehash them. 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

April 24, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Posted in Whatever

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good for you! I, on the other hand, got a memo that stated that only the hourly folks were getting annual raises, and since I’m a salaried employee, I get nothing. Grrr… But I’m working on making a case to the boss to see if he’ll let me start teleworking some. I hope to meet with him soon and talk to him about it. With the price of gas these days, teleworking just 1 day a week would be the equivalent to a >2% raise right there. And if it let’s me be a little more flexible with my daytime schedule, that would be great.
    Congrats again on the promotion and raise!

    Eric

    April 24, 2008 at 9:50 pm

  2. Woo hoo. A happy blog post! 🙂 fantastic job! Way impressive.

    titration

    April 25, 2008 at 8:50 am

  3. Congrats!

    Donna

    April 25, 2008 at 1:09 pm

  4. Congratulations! You rock, girlfriend! (even if you won’t go see the movie. Huge mistake. Huge. – channeling Julia Roberts here!

    Good luck, Eric. I hope you convince him to go for it!

    Ru's Mom

    April 25, 2008 at 7:54 pm

  5. Congratulations!!!!! You go, girl!

    Wishing luck to you too, Eric!

    Carmen

    April 25, 2008 at 8:54 pm

  6. Good for you! Sounds like you’re working for much smarter people nowadays. 🙂

    Cara

    April 27, 2008 at 10:23 am

  7. Yay!!!!!!!!!! Congratulations!!!

    Dianne

    April 30, 2008 at 11:26 pm


Leave a Reply

