blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

I Know What I’ll Be Doing the Next Few Evenings

with 2 comments

It’s always dangerous for my check book/card when I go into a book store. Today was no different. I didn’t buy anything outrageously priced, but I did buy two books more than I intended.

One I was just thrilled to find. My favorite author, Robert McCammon, has written a second book since coming out of retirement a few years ago. This book, The Queen of Bedlam, follows the same main character from his last book, the fabulous Spake the Nightbird. Both of them are long books (this one is 645 pages), but I love that because I enjoy his writing so much, I rarely want them to end. Spake the Nightbird was about a woman being accused of being a witch in the late 1600’s in the outer banks area of what would become South Carolina.

The Queen of Bedlam is about a serial killer in the early 1700s in New York City. (Y’all know my fascination with serial killers, so with that, and Robert’s writing put together, well, I can hardly wait to chomp into it!)

The other book I bought is a compilation of Flannery O’Connor works. It’s called Flannery OConnor: The Complete Stories. Since I’m not an O’Connor expert, I don’t know if the title means that the pieces themselves are complete (as in not unabridged) or if it is the complete compilation of all of her writings. It’s got several stories (31), and since she died young, perhaps maybe this is all she wrote. I’m sure an Internet search will reveal what I need to know. 🙂

Anyway, I remember reading her work in college, and while I found it interesting, I also was having to do work on it. Because I was an English minor, I took several literature courses, and of course, had to read a lot and write a LOT. I found it hard to actually “enjoy” the works I was reading when it was for class. I usually rushed through them, and treated them more like specimens under a magnifying glass, searching for what I could dissect from them to regurgitate back to the professor. So finally, I’m going to give her writings the respect they deserve and just savor them.

Recliner and reading lamp, here I come!!

How about y’all? Reading or read anything good lately?

Written by blogicalinks

April 23, 2008 at 9:33 pm

Posted in Whatever

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m not familiar with McGammon. I got a whole box of used penny books from Amazon. They are murder mysteries written by local gal Karen Slaughter and they are giving me the heebeegeebies. I need to take a break because I am hearing lots of bumps in the night.

    Donna

    April 25, 2008 at 1:07 pm

  2. I’m reading blogs.

    Dianne

    April 30, 2008 at 11:23 pm


Leave a Reply

