blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Movin’ On

with 5 comments

Again, not my questions, but I thought I’d ask them anyway. (And you wiseacres, this is not talking about “moving” like rolling off the couch. ๐Ÿ™‚

1. How many times have you moved? When was the last time?
2. What do you love and hate about moving?
3. Do you do it yourself or hire movers?
4. Advice for surviving and thriving during a move?
5. Are you in the middle of any inner moves, if not outer ones?
Bonus: Share a piece of music/poetry/film/book that expresses something about what moving means to you.

1. How many times have you moved? When was the last time?
I’ve moved twelve times (not counting back and forth to college). The last time was in June of last year.

2. What do you love and hate about moving?
I love change just as much as I love stability. So the excitement of moving and seeing new things, starting over, I like that. (I must say that I prefer when the move is MY idea, rather than being forced out by an ex-significant other…grrrrr.) I hate moving in bad weather. I’ve moved in torrential rain and blazing hot summers. Other than that, I don’t mind it too much if it’s a place I want to be.

3. Do you do it yourself or hire movers?
I’ve done both. After getting decent furniture, I’ve always hired movers. But I always do as much as I possibly can to cut down on the movers’ time/cost. I pack all the boxes, break down beds, etc.

4. Advice for surviving and thriving during a move?
Don’t wait until the last minute to pack (yes, that’s coming from Procrastination Polly), put like things in boxes and label them clearly for yourself and the movers, and don’t make any other plans the day of a move. When using movers, ask people for recommendations. Don’t pick movers arbitrarily.

Once you’ve moved in, unpack everything as soon as you can.

5. Are you in the middle of any inner moves, if not outer ones?
No outer ones. I’m moving into a more comfortable groove at work. It’s still lots of work and very stressful sometimes, but I’ve found my rhythm and confidence in the job I’m supposed to do. And now that I’ve proven myself, my boss is willing to hear my ideas about other things outside my job description. I like that.

Bonus: Share a piece of music/poetry/film/book that expresses something about what moving means to you.

Well, the only thing that comes to my mind is the theme song from “The Jeffersons.” Movin’ On Up! Not profound, but it’ll do. ๐Ÿ™‚

Share your answers!

Written by blogicalinks

April 16, 2008 at 7:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1. How many times have you moved? When was the last time?
    Unlike most adults, I’m not sure I’ve ever *moved*, really. Technically I moved around countless times in the Army, mostly I lived in the barracks and didn’t have to move household goods, only a couple of bags. Or just my body, with what I could fit on it. When I got married, the move from the barracks was pretty much the same, just a couple of bags to an apartment, my husband had furniture. When we split up I moved here to Atlanta, and again only took a couple of bags, since I moved in with my brother and uncle. Then, when I bought my condo, I still didn’t have much to move except a couple of bags. Wow, 41 and I’ve never had to disassemble a bed. ๐Ÿ™‚

    2. What do you love and hate about moving?
    Well, I love how easy it’s been so far.

    3. Do you do it yourself or hire movers?
    Hiring movers would have been overkill for any of my moves. The only job for the movers would have been to applaud, I guess.

    4. Advice for surviving and thriving during a move?
    I’m the last person to offer advice in this area. Unless you’re moving to someplace like Iraq. Then I’m an expert. My advice: don’t move. It sounds like a real pain in the ass.

    5. Are you in the middle of any inner moves, if not outer ones?
    Nope…since I’ll probably take the Summer Semester off, I’ll be back at Perimeter in the fall, doing pretty much the same stuff. I might change my major. But I’ve always been wishy-washy about majoring in Communications. It’s hard to make a drastic change in course when you haven’t *been* on a set course. No outer ones either, good luck to anyone selling their place right now.

    Bonus: Share a piece of music/poetry/film/book that expresses something about what moving means to you.

    Not having moved in a traditional way handicaps me in the bonus area. All I can think of are cadences from the Army, those sing-songy things you hear when soldiers are marching. They reflected the frequent deployments, and how life in the military compared to life “back on the block.” Some were jam-packed with descriptions of frenetic military maneuvers. That’s what I associate with going from one place to another—Move in quick, take them by surprise, lock, load, and kill all the neighbors!

    Hm. It may be a good thing I haven’t moved too much.

    Cara

    April 17, 2008 at 6:39 pm

  2. I’ve moved several times and I do not like it at all so I avoid it if at all possible. I’m amazed by people who move yearly. Some do. It confonds me.

    titration

    April 17, 2008 at 7:18 pm

  3. 1. Wow. As an adult? 1. To Shady Dale with husband. 2. To Stone Mtn with GF 3. To Texas 4. Back to GA. 5. To Apt (after bunking with parents for a couple of months 6. To new townhouse 7. To new house with D. 8. To L’s house 9. To cabin full-time 10. To farm.

    2. Hate everything about it pretty much. Usually indicated a major upheaval in my life.

    3. Most of the time, by myself. Twice with movers.

    4. No good advice. The smart thing is to throw out junk and not move it. I don’t do that. Look forward to the new adventure. I keep telling myself that ๐Ÿ™‚ Storage unit buildings are a good investment since I’ve spent hundreds of dollars a month for them (usually just for work, but a lot for personal use in the last 4 years) for 20+ years.

    5. HUGE inner moves. My entire life is an inner move.

    Bonus – “Leaving on a Jet Plane”? ๐Ÿ˜€
    “Coming home to a place I’d never been before” = some of how I felt in some moves – “Rocky Mountain High”
    Both John Denver songs – how sappy can I be?!?!

    Ru's Mom

    April 17, 2008 at 8:51 pm

  4. 1. I’ve moved about ten times or so. Sometimes I get asked a security question asking me to verify an old address and I always struggle to answer.

    2. I would rather submit myself to the controversial proposed torture ban tactics.

    3. I used to recruit every human with movable limb stumps but then everyone in my family succumbed to “kneesles” or commonly known as a bum knee. Now I hire movers and my family invites me over again.

    4. No advice.

    5. My entire life is an inner move.

    Bonus – “These Boots are made for walking?”

    Donna

    April 19, 2008 at 8:10 am

  5. 1. How many times have you moved? When was the last time?
    OK, if you are tossing out college, then..
    when I was 2, I moved from Atlanta to Vinings (still Atlanta),
    when I was 22, I moved from Vinings to Smyrna,
    when I was 28, I moved from one apt. in Smyrna to a bigger one in the same complex,
    when I was 30, I moved to Marietta and
    when I was 35, I moved here.

    2. What do you love and hate about moving?
    I hate everything about moving. I mean EVERYTHING.

    3. Do you do it yourself or hire movers?
    I’ve done it both ways and I will only hire movers from here on out.

    4. Advice for surviving and thriving during a move?
    Best advice: Don’t do it. If you have to: Take an entire week off of work.

    5. Are you in the middle of any inner moves, if not outer ones?
    Hmmm… I had oatmeal for dinner tonight. That should get some inner moves going on.

    Bonus: Share a piece of music/poetry/film/book that expresses something about what moving means to you.
    “Bitch” by Meredith Brooks

    Dianne

    April 30, 2008 at 11:15 pm


Leave a Reply

