blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

April Fool’s Clean Up

with 5 comments

Okay, after the dust has settled and the coast is clear. After totally falling for Carmen’s post about ferrets and just for a second thinking Laura’s getting married…, I’m ready to hear your stories.

What the best April Fool’s joke that you’ve pulled or had pulled on you…or share both!

Honestly, I’m so hyper-alert on April 1, that I haven’t fallen for many that I can remember. The best one I ever pulled was on a boss of mine when I was at City Paper Company. Mr. Friedman was in charge of planning his high school’s 50th reunion. He spent weeks and weeks planning a truly big shindig, and he talked about it all the time. (For those of you who know B’ham, it was being held at The Club, a very well-known ritzy restaurant with the best view of the city to be had.) Being the only graphic designer working for him at the time, I designed the invitations, the place cards, etc., so I was in-the-know about how much time and effort he was putting into it.

April 1 was about a week or 10 days before the reunion, so from an office down the hall, I called Mr. Friedman and disquised my voice. I claimed to the social events handler at The Club. I was calling to tell him that his event had been double-booked by a new employee who did not realize the mistake until today. His event conflicted with a national meeting of executives from Southern Company Services, and since they had booked first, he would have to move his event to the next available day, like four days AFTER he’d planned for it.

Oh my goodness!! He went ballistic!! He started yelling at the top of his lungs, using profanity, storming around his desk…. by this point, I and my co-workers (most of whom knew what I was doing), could hear the whole thing and we were dying laughing. But he was getting so upset, we were afraid he might rupture something, so I went in and yelled “April Fools!” He came over and put me in noogie head-lock. He laughed pretty heartily about it later. 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

April 2, 2008 at 7:35 pm

Posted in Whatever

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. O my word! That’s good. I sadly have not pulled many or had many pulled on me. Except stupid stuff. Like saying “I got my nose pirced” when I was younger and I hadn’t. Dude I’m so lame.

    titration

    April 2, 2008 at 8:34 pm

  2. Whaddya mean?

    Ru's Mom

    April 2, 2008 at 11:18 pm

  3. Laura’s not getting married? Well, there goes my B&B deposit. 🙂

    I’ll admit to being an April 1 paranoid personality too. My Biology professor tried to pretend we had a test, nobody in the class even pulled out a pencil. Even the kids today are jaded. 🙂 Oh well.

    I honestly can’t think of any good April Fool’s jokes that I’ve personally been involved with. Apparently all the other people in my life are extremely paranoid too.

    The closest I ever got was listening to the old 99X morning crew (Barnes, Leslie, Jimmy) on April 1 every year, I knew they would come up with something good. Anyone else fondly remember the huge live concert which was held nowhere? Or the “accidental” broadcast of Leonardo DiCaprio’s phone number? Ah, those were the days.

    Cara

    April 3, 2008 at 8:00 am

  4. Sunday question, Sunday question, Sunday question….

    HELLOOOOO OUT THERE!!!!!

    (sigh) 😦

    Ru's Mom

    April 6, 2008 at 8:25 pm

  5. I used to love the 99X April Fool’s jokes – like the new amusement park that was being built “right up 85”, or the change in formats. Those were great.

    Though not specifically on April 1st, I got into some serious pranks earlier in my career. Things such as getting someone to call the guy at work with the fancy sportscar to let him know that it fell of the rack at the shop. Or firing a coworker (complete with “pink” letter, and HR going along with the gag). Or convincing a guy who hated the name “Bob” (he preferred Robert) that his new business cards would be printed as “Bob”. The zinger on that one was when everyone in the department all of a sudden had “Bob” on their business cards.

    Ahhh…the good old days…

    Eric

    April 8, 2008 at 8:57 am


Leave a Reply

