blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

New Bowling Ball

with 8 comments

bowlersdream_1993_43492844.jpgAfter months of having my middle finger in pretty bad pain from trying to bowl with my old ball, I finally caved today and bought a new one. It’s just like the one shown in the picture, but it’s actually darker purples and teals than this photo shows.

I’ve had the same bowling ball for 20+ years. It was one I got at K-mart, right after I moved to B’ham. Apparently (according to the ball driller today), the span between my thumb hole and my middle finger hole were too far apart. For the last several years, I’ve had to tape up my middle finger, so that the downward pull on it when I released would not hurt so much. I put a lot of speed into my delivery, so even though I only have a 10 lb. ball, it has a quite a bit of momentum when it leaves my hand. For years, the tape was enough to prevent injury, but since I’ve been bowling with this league, it has been injurious to the point of being bruised purple the day after bowling and being sore all week long.

So anyway, the driller today showed me where the hole SHOULD be, compared to where it is, and it was about 1/4″ off. I asked the guy why I’ve been able to get away with dodging injury up until this year. Well, apparently, it’s an age thing. Go figure. πŸ™‚ He said that my hand/fingers are probably not as strong or flexible as they used to be, so I can’t compensate for the improper fit any more.

Jane and I bowled a game (I used a house ball.) while we’re waiting for the guy to drill the ball. When he was done, we started another game. I bowled a 182!! (My average is 152, in case you were wondering πŸ™‚ We bowled two more games, and I didn’t do quite as well, but still pretty well over all, and the best part was that my finger did not feel like it was being reinjured, even without wearing tape. It still doesn’t feel good, but that’s due to last week, not today. I can tell when it’s being stressed, and that’s not what was happening today.

Anywho, we went to Gwinnett AMF Lanes on Jimmy Carter Blvd. It was actually a nice place, the staff was very friendly, it wasn’t crowded, and the nachos were fresh!! πŸ™‚ We think we’re going to join a “Flex League” that they offer. Neither of us have ever heard of this kind of league setup, but it’s kind of neat. Each person is their own “team.” You get to bowl whenever you want during the week. It’s only $9 a week for 18 weeks for the summer…starting in May. It’s not a money league, so I guess the prizes at the end will be a trophy, not a money payout. When you join, you also get 10 free games during the week for practice!! What a deal!! Right now, in the league we in at midtown, it’s $16 per game and no free games.

If any of you readers are interested in joining us in this league, it might be fun to go together when possible. If you are interested, just let me or Jane know, and we’ll tell you more about what we know about it.

Written by blogicalinks

March 29, 2008 at 10:47 pm

Posted in Sharing

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow. You all are serious! Really glad you aren’t injuring yourself anymore! O and fyi my gf lives near the Biltmore. πŸ™‚ — (per your comment on my blog earlier).

    titration

    March 29, 2008 at 11:16 pm

  2. I’m not interested in a league, but if you’re just going for a pratice game or to kill some time, let me know. I haven’t bowled in a couple of years, but I’d be up for it. I have no finesse or ball control – it’s strictly a power shot down the middle.

    Eric

    March 30, 2008 at 8:29 am

  3. SURE, that’s the reason πŸ˜€

    I’d like to bowl with those bowling just there for fun. Serious stuff, “no”. But, y’all can laugh all you want at me.

    Hey! It would be MY version of “shining extremely bright lights directly in the eye”!

    Ru's Mom

    March 30, 2008 at 9:35 pm

  4. well, i’m glad your middle finger can heal now. I know how much you use that.

    Anonymous

    March 31, 2008 at 7:11 pm

  5. i am not anonymous. this is lynn. hey, cheryl!

    Anonymous

    March 31, 2008 at 7:12 pm

  6. I would love to go bowling sometime!!

    Donna

    April 6, 2008 at 10:30 am

  7. Do you want a Bowling Birthday Party, Donna?

    Ru's Mom

    April 6, 2008 at 8:27 pm

  8. LOL! I am cracking up at the middle finger comment! πŸ™‚

    I bowled a month ago for the first time in years and I used a 6 lb. ball. I got in two games and did not throw my back out this time. Yay! But, I think if I were going to do that very often, I’d need my own bowling ball because the 6 lb. ones they have are all drilled for kid-sized hands. It’s pretty hard to have any control over it when your fingertips are about all that fit in the holes. 😦 Anyway, I was glad to know that I could survive a bowling trip.

    Dianne

    April 20, 2008 at 11:23 am


Leave a Reply

