blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Canine Joy

with 9 comments

Well, I finally took old Scouty-boy to the dog park this afternoon. It was the first time in his whole life that he’s ever been off the leash and not in a yard at the same time. (Birmingham didn’t have tons of dog parks like Atlanta does…at least not that I’m aware of). (Addition: After I wrote that I googled “Birmingham AL dog parks” and only two came up. I know both of these places, and neither of them have fences. I don’t really consider that a dog park!)

Anyway, I was a bit nervous, because Scout can get his hackles up in a hurry, but for the most part, he’s pretty calm. I was just hoping it was the calm Scout that would show up today. And I purposely remained relax as we walked to the gate, so that he wouldn’t pick up on my anxiety about the whole thing.

So I let him in the gate (Jane had Maggie in the little dog area), and let him off his harness. He took off trotting toward the center of the field. Other dogs came up and sniffed his butt, but he, for the most part, just looked at them and kept going his merry way. He walked/trotted the perimeter of the area (which is a long way!), and when I thought he was getting too far away, I’d call him, and he’d come running back to me. It was to fun to see him get to run a long way. He’s never really had the room to do that before. His ears were back and his old bones and muscles still got him around pretty fast.

Eventually, Maggie joined us in the big dog park, and we all walked the perimeter again. Scout running far out ahead, and then running back to join us…Maggie barely keeping up. She’s not really a runner. However, should an unfortunate rabbit ever get in there, I’m sure it would be a different story. 🙂

I’m gonna give him a pain pill for his arthritis tonight, because I’m pretty sure he will be sore from his big adventure. And yes, I felt some guilt pains for not having gotten him out to the park sooner. But I can’t undo the past. I just know that he and I (and Maggie) will be joining Jane and Jackson at the park as often as possible. And who knows? Perhaps a boxer bash is in our future too!

Written by blogicalinks

March 27, 2008 at 7:29 pm

Posted in Sharing

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It was a perfect day to be outside, wasn’t it? 🙂

    Ease up on the guilt over your pets…they’re lucky, all of them, most pets PRAY to belong to a lesbian. Even your unexpectedly-biting cat seems happy, when not biting.

    Cara

    March 27, 2008 at 8:55 pm

  2. Or, bring him out to the farm this spring/summer.
    We’re fixing it up – and it IS a dogs’ paradise.
    Mine are only on leashes to go to the vet (and they do NOT walk on leashes well).

    Ru's Mom

    March 27, 2008 at 10:32 pm

  3. Bring ’em to a Boxer Bash and I’ll be sure to get some pictures of them running around for you!

    Eric

    March 29, 2008 at 8:03 am

  4. I’m sure Scout has forgotten and forgiven already! Glad he (and all of you) had a fun time!

    Carmen

    March 29, 2008 at 9:47 pm

  5. “And I purposely remained relax as we walked to the gate, so that he wouldn’t pick up on my anxiety about the whole thing.” — Someone’s been watching the Dog Whisperer.

    I remember when you and I first sniffed each others’ butts. That’s the best way to make a new friend.

    Happy dog-mothering!

    Lynn

    March 31, 2008 at 7:16 pm

  6. I’m laughing my head off! Too funny…

    Eric

    April 1, 2008 at 8:31 am

  7. Aww, you are a good Mom 🙂

    Donna

    April 6, 2008 at 10:28 am

  8. OK, now I feel slighted. You and I only sang Dan Fogelberg songs on our first meeting.

    Yeah, bring that boy to a Boxer Bash! 🙂

    Dianne

    April 20, 2008 at 11:15 am


Leave a Reply

