blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Five Questions

with 4 comments

(Again from RevGalPal’s blog)

1. If you could travel to any historical time period, which would it be, and why?
2. What futuristic/science fiction development would you most like to see?
3. Which do you enjoy more: remembering the past, or dreaming for the future?
4. What do you find most memorable about this year’s Lent?
5. How will you spend your time during this upcoming Holy Week? What part do you look forward to most?

1. If you could travel to any historical time period, which would it be, and why?
These days, I’d really like to go back and meet Jesus when he was walking the earth. I’d have a few questions I’d like to settle. Of course, he’d probably answer my questions with a question or with a confusing parable. 🙂

2. What futuristic/science fiction development would you most like to see?
I think this is coming pretty soon, but I still don’t think I’ll be around to see it if I live to old age. I think that we will eventually have the ability to hook our brains up to computers and upload/download information.

3. Which do you enjoy more: remembering the past, or dreaming for the future?
Since I’ve had an enjoyable past, I can say that I enjoy both, but if I had to pick, I’d say dreaming for the future. I know I’m 47, but I really don’t “feel” it. I feel like I’m at a very good place in my life where I’m making good decisions in many areas in my life, and I think they will all affect my future in a very beneficial way.

4. What do you find most memorable about this year’s Lent?
I don’t really pay much attention to the Lenten period.

5. How will you spend your time during this upcoming Holy Week? What part do you look forward to most?
As it relates to spiritual things, I will spend it reading and journaling, but not particularly dwelling on the crucifixion and resurrection. Whether Jesus’ resurrection was truly physical or simply spiritual is not important to me.

I know that sounds like apostasy to some believers, but the fact is, as long as the resurrected spirit of God is allowed to move in and through me right now, today, that’s all I care about.

The way I figure it, if Jesus did not resurrect physically, then neither will we, and there’s nothing after death. In this scenario, all that matters is living a life that matters NOW, not worrying about some eternal reward.

If Jesus did resurrect physically, then so will all of us. In either case, following the way of Jesus separate from and not motivated by any “eternal reward” that might happen is what I want to do with my life. If there’s a reward, then yay! If not, then there’s oblivion, and that’s okay too.

Y’all’s answers?

Written by blogicalinks

March 15, 2008 at 1:01 pm

Posted in Sunday Question

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1. If you could travel to any historical time period, which would it be, and why? I would travel back to Jesus too. I would love to see how he dealt with people and situations and I’d also love to see his relationship with Mary Magdalene.

    2. What futuristic/science fiction development would you most like to see? Robots that can clean my house for me!

    3. Which do you enjoy more: remembering the past, or dreaming for the future? I enjoy both. Remembering the past is important and crucial, but I find myself daydreaming about the future most of all.

    4. What do you find most memorable about this year’s Lent? I don’t celebrate Lent. I normally give up Lent for Lent. 😉

    5. How will you spend your time during this upcoming Holy Week? What part do you look forward to most? I plan on praying for your boss and the people that think so hatefully of others. I look forward to the hope of peace.

    Carmen

    March 15, 2008 at 2:13 pm

  2. I’ll answer the first three, since my answers to the last two would be pretty much the same as yours and Carmen’s.
    1) I’d love to go back to the early American industrial revolution/colonial times. I studied history of technology in college, particularly this era, so I would love to see this firt hand – steam power, water mill power, and hand tools. Alternatively, I’d like to go back in time and hang out with Thomas Edison.
    2) I want to see teleportation (“beam me up, Scotty”). I hate the time spent driving long distances or flying.
    3) I think I spend more time looking towards the future – especially when the lotto jackpot gets up there!

    Eric

    March 15, 2008 at 4:56 pm

  3. 1. A bit narrow or selfish perhaps, but I’d like to go back to meet or see my grandmother as a child and a young woman. I would like to learn more about her life and what she encountered and how she dealt with her challenges.
    2. A cure for cancer AND the common cold. Since my surgery I am much more aware of the amazing medical advancements – even of the last 15 years regarding my surgery. My dad’s upcoming heart surgery is commonplace. I cannot wait to see what is on the horizon with medical science.
    3. Interesting. My initial response is “remembering the past”. I think my tie to clutter is a part of that. Beth and I have been talking about this issue of mine a lot this weekend. For whatever reason, I assume the future will be good. It seems I am spending a lot of time savoring the good times of the past.
    4. That I feel like I am missing it. I made it to Ash Wednesday service, but nothing since – and maybe nothing until Easter Sunday. Services weren’t important to be prior to the last couple of years but I really feel like I’m missing something this year.
    5. Carmen has an excellent suggestion 🙂
    I’ll do what I’ve done for the last couple of years. I’ll just pray “Thy will be done”. I’m trusting that good things are on the horizon.

    Laura

    March 16, 2008 at 12:08 am

  4. 1. I’d like to go wayyyyyy back, to literally the first historic period, around 4000 B.C, in Mesopotamia. It would be interesting to see the transitional aspects from the hunter-gather lifestyle to the “civilized” life. What could be more interesting in history than the beginning of history?
    2. I’d like to see more of space exploration…what would other solar systems or planets look like? Or black holes, what’s going on in there? Since we don’t know what’s out there, I can’t imagine what would be coolest.
    3. Dreaming of the future is better, it’s unlimited! And like Eric, I’m sure it includes winning the lottery. I’m much richer in the future.
    4. I find this question rather odd…a “memorable” Lent? I have memorable vacations, or Christmases, but a memorable Lent seems scary. I do usually go to Ash Wednesday services and missed them this year, so that’s memorable, I suppose.
    5. I don’t do much for Holy Week, except enjoy the irony of Christians participating in rituals of pagan origin.

    Cara

    March 16, 2008 at 4:27 pm


Leave a Reply

