blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Five Questions

with 3 comments

(Originally asked at RevGalPal.blogspot.com)

In this past week, what has been…
1. A sign of hope?
2. An unexpected word of light in a dark place?
3. A sign of spring?
4. Challenging/surprising?
5. Share a hope for the coming week/month/year….
Bonus play… a piece of music/ poem guaranteed to cheer you?

1. A sign of hope?

I think something is really changing in me spiritually in a way it never has before. I find myself wanting to be and ABLE to be the better person I’ve always thought I should/could be.

2. An unexpected word of light in a dark place?

A co-worker who had already read the scathing essay my boss wrote about homosexuality today, left me a sticky note at my desk, encouraging me not to read it. She knew it would hurt my feelings and make me sad/angry. She didn’t want that for me, and I really appreciated her compassion toward me.

3. A sign of spring?

Tulips that I didn’t know I had are starting to show their leaves above the pinestraw.

4. Challenging/surprising?

It’s been a busy, intense, and sometimes frustrating, week at work.

5. Share a hope for the coming week/month/year….

It’s ALL hope. None of it’s guaranteed, and certainly none of it is guaranteed to be good, but I hope I go through it all with kindness, love, and peace in my heart.

Bonus play… a piece of music/ poem guaranteed to cheer you?
“Waiting for a Star to Fall” by Boy Meets Girl. That is such a happy song, and it always makes me smile, even though I rarely hear it any more.

Your reponses? Operators are standing by. 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

March 12, 2008 at 9:34 pm

Posted in Sharing

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree that your new journey is a definite sign of hope. That’s a great thing. One of my interesting signs of spring has to be seen on my drive to work each morning – newborn calfs in the pastures. This morning, a ‘pack’ of three little calves walked one behind the other, following one of the mother cows. And my challenge right now is balancing all of my work activities, volunteer activities, and home chores/activities – and trying to find the motivation for all of it! I foresee that the next 3-4 weeks will be utter chaos.

    Eric Kaplan

    March 13, 2008 at 8:36 am

  2. 1. Wonderful, supportive friendship.
    2. Talking to said friends about their experiences coming out of dark times.
    3. California poppies (hey, I’m here, they are blooming and its spring)
    4. How wonderfully easy and magically traveling with Paul and Fernando was this week.
    5. I hope I find a partner who will enjoy a week like this one with me in the future.
    Bonus – Wicked. Always Wicked. In particular, Defying Gravity.

    Laura

    March 15, 2008 at 3:02 am

  3. In this past week, what has been…
    1. A sign of hope? Sometimes for me this comes from an overwhelming feeling of gratitude which leads me to feel the grace of god. Yesterday I had breakfast on my balcony and the weather was so beautiful. It was like this little perfect moment after all of those storms from the weekend.
    2. An unexpected word of light in a dark place? Last night my neighbors unexpectedly invited me over to their little St. Patty’s day gathering. When I walked into the back yard all of these 5 year olds were giggling at a Leprechaun story my neighbor was telling.
    3. A sign of spring? New buds on my trees, little flowers poking up in my yard, wearing shorts for the first time
    4. Challenging/surprising?
    5. Share a hope for the coming week/month/year….
    Bonus play… a piece of music/ poem guaranteed to cheer you?
    Just happened to be listening to Sade’s song “I will be your friend”

    Donna

    March 17, 2008 at 4:40 pm


Leave a Reply

