blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Discouraged

with 4 comments

I read a short article about this Oklahoma State Representative, Sally Kern, yesterday, but didn’t see this video until today.

And this follows on the heels of today, having in my email, my boss’s daily blog words about how homosexuality is loathsome and an abomination. (I would let you read it, but trust me, it would just make you angry, and frankly, I don’t want him clicking over here to my blog from where people click over to his blog.) So I finally just “unsubscribed” myself from his daily emails.

I’m trying to come to a place where I can let stuff like this roll off my back, but I’m telling you, it’s hard. It’s hard to be “prejudged” before anyone gets to know me as a person, to know that some people think of me (and others like me) as more dangerous to this country than terrorists, to be accused of going after two-year-olds to “indoctrinate” them into being gay. (I prefer to wait until until they’re six years old…. Oh, good grief!! I’m kidding!! The ridiculousness of it is just something that has to be laughed at!)

This kind of rhetoric just inflames weak-minded, overly-zealous people to commit hate crimes, and then feel totally justified in their actions. That’s the worst outcome of all of this, aside from it just making me sad and angry.

Where I went to today with my bosses words is just trying to realize that no matter what I would say to counter him, he’s not going to change his thoughts/beliefs. If anything, if I presented a logical, well-thought-out reason for why his view of scripture might not be the only Truth, he would just think I was trying to justify a lifestyle which he has already deemed as sinful, through and through. What I’m going to choose to do is just BE the love of Jesus toward him, in whatever way that means. I don’t know that I even know what that might entail, but I’m going to try to live it out. I will not allow his hostility toward me to be answered with hostility toward him. He’s a broken human just like I am, and he’s trying to find his way in a messy world, just like I am. But it seems we are taking different paths and expressing our beliefs in very different ways. I just hope that his (and the lawmaker’s) ways of expression do not lead to violence.

It will be interesting to see if I can continue to work for someone who so easily reviles me.

Written by blogicalinks

March 12, 2008 at 10:06 pm

Posted in Sharing, Venting

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Whew! where did you find this looney tunes lady?!? i could comment on so much of the crap she spewed, but i’ll just refuse to do that because otherwise this comment would never end. And it’s obvious that she’s a total jesus freak who believes blindly and eats up the information spewed at her only to regurgitate it back to everyone who will listen rather than using common sense, reason, and logic. But i’d expect no more from someone like that. She is simply someone to be dismissed with the hope that the folks she “shares” that crap with have more sense than she does.

    After listening to that though, mainly what I come away thinking is this…(no disrespect or offense meant when i say this but…) that lady borders a little too closely on dykedom herself! I always think that about people like her anyway, the whole: “methinks the lady doth protest too much.” Sounds to me like someone came after her when *she* was 2 and won 😉

    wenzday

    March 12, 2008 at 10:12 pm

  2. I am linking to you again, and posting this video. O my word! Grrrrrrrrrr.

    titration

    March 13, 2008 at 8:32 am

  3. Drat! Another canny Republican has uncovered our secret plans.

    Anyone know where can I sign up for a Homosexual Infiltration Team? That sounds like fun, and a good way to meet hot chicks. Maybe I’ll e-mail the gaydar-pinging Representative Kern and ask.

    Cara

    March 14, 2008 at 12:21 pm

  4. I need another toaster oven…

    Laura

    March 15, 2008 at 2:58 am


Leave a Reply

