blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

It’s Not Easy Being Green

with 6 comments

images.jpgI drive a Corolla which gets great gas mileage. And I’ve just recently started buying fluorescent lightbulbs to replace the incandescant ones as they burn out. Due to the drought, I’ve become much more water-thrifty and plan to continue it. I don’t currently recycle, but I’m going to start doing that again as well. I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t done it since I’ve lived here.

Y’all have any good, practical ideas about ways to help the environment, whether you do them or not? What are the some specific things you do yourself?

Written by blogicalinks

March 4, 2008 at 7:23 pm

Posted in Seeking, Whatever

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I favor the reusable grocery bags, instead of all of the plastic bags. You can buy a couple for around $1 a piece, and 2 bags will hold the same as 5-6 plastic bags. Also, give your house the once-over and make sure that faucets and toilets are not leaking or dripping. If they are, let me know and I’ll help you fix them. The compact florescent bulbs are a great idea. I have them in almost every fixture in the house, including the ceiling fans, stove hood light, and front porch lights. Check your thermostats, too. If you don’t already have a programmable thermostat, think about installing one (I can help with that, too). If you can stand to have your heat at 65-67, and your A/C at 74-76, not only will you save money, but you’ll reduce your energy usage. Finally, consider getting a K&N air filter for your car. It is washable, so you don’t throw away the old filters into the landfill, and it gives you a little bit better mileage, reducing your usage of gas.

    Congrats on taking the first steps. Let me know what I can do to help.

    Eric

    March 4, 2008 at 11:50 pm

  2. Eric, thanks for the tips! My neighborhood has a recycling program which is much easier to do then I thought it would be.

    Donna

    March 5, 2008 at 10:14 am

  3. I need to sign up for recycling. *embarrassment* Other than that, we also have been watching our water usage a lot. We also have mostly compact florescents around the house. I also need to buy some reusable bags. Target has some really cute red ones for $.99 right now.

    Eric, great tips!!!

    Carmen

    March 5, 2008 at 5:38 pm

  4. Oh and I forgot to say, my blog url has changed to pecanflan.blogspot.com ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s good to be back!

    Carmen

    March 5, 2008 at 5:39 pm

  5. Thanks, Eric, for mentioning the reusable bags, I bring them in the house and forget about them. I’ll get mine now and put it back in the car. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have a lot of fixtures in my house that don’t take traditional lightbulbs, so the florescent thing isn’t always easy for me. I bought my civic partly for environmental reasons. I figure a few gallons of gas per mile less than a bigger car really adds up over 10 years.

    Using vinegar, baking soda and other non-toxic cleaners is another way to be environmental. If I cleaned my house occasionally, it would make more than a theoretical difference. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh, Cheryl, you have to have a wordpress blog, and be difficult, don’t ya? ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m gonna try putting my blog address in the website space, maybe that’s how you link your name. Blogging is such a learning experience.

    Cara

    March 6, 2008 at 1:51 pm

  6. I am pretty good with the thermostat thing. I keep it on 67 in the winter and 78 in the summer. Of course I bitched about the heat the entire summer too, but hey… at least it was green bitching. I’m good with water conservation, but I suck at recycling. I’m also not good with the reusable bags, but on the otherhand, I never throw out the plastic ones so they certainly aren’t going into a landfill! And I use natural fertilizer on the grass – the Simba Special Blend ๐Ÿ™‚

    Simba

    March 14, 2008 at 11:58 pm


Leave a Reply

