blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Wednesday Question

with 8 comments

So what’re some of your favorite comfort foods, and/or what are some “odd” food combinations you enjoy?

Mine:
Comfort food:
When I’m sick: tomato and rice soup with saltine crackers
When it’s cold outside: roastbeef chips and gravy on toast
When I’m sad: moose tracks ice cream

Odd combination:
dill pickles and peanut butter on saltine crackers

Written by blogicalinks

January 16, 2008 at 10:05 pm

Posted in Whatever

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Comfort food:
    When I’m sick: chicken noodle soup with saltine crackers
    When it’s cold outside: spaghetti, chili or other “winter” foods
    When I’m sad: nothing at all

    Odd combination:
    scrambled eggs followed by chocolate

    Dianne

    January 16, 2008 at 10:31 pm

  2. Not sure if you meant for us to follow your breakdown, but since Dianne did, i’ll follow too…

    Comfort food:
    When I’m sick: something with lots of spice like mexican food (salsa, burrito etc.) or spicy chili so i can actually taste it past my stuffy nose, and chocolate.
    When it’s cold outside: chili (i loves me some chili), or turkey/dressing with mashed potatoes and gravy, or soup of any kind, and chocolate.
    When I’m sad: nothing specific, if i’m miserable enough, i won’t eat though, oh, and chocolate.

    Odd combination:
    -plain potato chips and cottage cheese as my “dip”
    -french fries and a frosty, sometimes dipped in or take a bite of one and then the other so they’re in my mouth at the same time.
    -macaroni and cheese with brown gravy…mmm, add this to my comfort food list too!
    -not so odd in combo but unique in presentation…i put dill pickle chips ON my grilled cheese. the structure is as follows: bread, piece of cheese, 4 pickle chips, another piece of cheese, and other piece of bread then into the pan it goes.

    and dare i say, pickles with peanut butter on crackers makes my stomach absolutely lurch. i’m a very picky eater to start with and odd food combos make me want to gag usually. yours, my friend, is no exception 😉

    wenzday

    January 16, 2008 at 11:47 pm

  3. Comfort food:
    When I’m sick: Chicken noodle soup (but with big noodles)
    When it’s cold outside: All warm beverages, black bean soup, grilled cheese…
    When I’m sad: chocolate

    Odd combination:
    French fries in my ice cream

    Hey, what is roastbeef chips and gravy on toast like. I’ve never heard of it.

    titration

    January 16, 2008 at 11:53 pm

  4. When I’m sick – chicken noodle soup with saltines and ginger ale
    Usually Campbell’s – Sometimes Noodle-O’s, but just discovered the Progresso version with egg noodles is VERY good!
    When it’s cold outside – During snowstorms – Oyster stew
    Fall – brunswick stew
    The rest of the time – baked chicken, mashed potatoes and English peas
    When I’m sad – chocolate works 🙂

    I do like chipped beef on toast – and eat at Mom’s when she makes it (also served with English peas)

    Odd combination – ?
    A diet book said to use cottage cheese on baked potatoes instead of sour cream. Some people think that’s odd.

    Ru's Mom

    January 17, 2008 at 1:50 am

  5. Hrmmm…

    Comfort Food:
    When I’m sick: usually something plain, like buttered rice or chicken-noodle soup (I second the ‘Progresso’ vote).
    When it’s cold outside: chili or Brunswick stew (I keep extra in the freezer for cold weeknights).
    When I’m sad: macaroni & cheese, or ice cream (or one followed by the other).

    Odd combination: I can’t think of anything specific. I really like pickles, and tend to eat them as a side for anything else. Also, I’m not a big fan of beans, so when I make chili, I use corn instead of beans. That seems odd to some folks, though usually after trying it, they like it (corn is very southwestern, after all).

    Eric

    January 17, 2008 at 6:44 am

  6. Comfort food: Fried chicken—especially KFC!

    When I’m sick: tomato soup with rice–I didn’t say this because of C, I REALLY do like this combo when sick.

    When it’s cold outside: Anything with warm gravy–rice, noodles, potatoes.

    Odd combination: I used to eat this when I was a kid…..tunafish and chocolate milk–haven’t had this for years but I remembered I really liked it back then–it was the sweet and salty thing. Now every once in a while I like ice cream and potato chips together. Sweet and salty thing again.

    justjackandjane

    January 17, 2008 at 9:27 pm

  7. When I’m sick – chicken and rice soup with saltines and Verners soda. My mom always gave me Verners when I was sick.
    When it’s cold outside – Homemade soup, chili, hot tea, lots of coffee
    The rest of the time – My favorite quick dinner is flat bread spread with hummus, cucumbers, olives, and really any other veggie I have.

    When I’m sad – chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate. Of course that’s what I eat when I’m happy too, hmmm

    Odd combination – My father created, or at least in my mind he did, chocolate oatmeal. Regular oatmeal mixed with hot chocolate powder. We got it as a treat on the weekends because our dad got up early on the weekends, made us breakfast, and watched Tarzan with us. Good times 😀

    Donna

    January 22, 2008 at 11:08 am

  8. Ahhh. A kindred mind. Everybody thinks I’m crazy…..dill pickles and peanut butter on hamburger bun

    stephanie

    January 22, 2008 at 7:03 pm


Leave a Reply

