blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Getting Older and Other Stuff

with 6 comments

I know the only option to getting older is dying, and so in that regard, I’m grateful to be aging, BUT, I hate the way my body seems to be working against me!

Wednesday night, J. and I were getting ready to go bowling. I was putting my ball bag into the trunk, and she approached with her bag—a double one with handles and wheels for pulling it along. I knew it would be heavy, but I wasn’t prepared for how heavy, and I lifted it from an awkward position. As soon as I hoisted it high enough to get it into my trunk, I felt a pull in my back on my left side. It was uncomfortable, but not like a major pain.

We went on to the alley and began to bowl. I could tell that trying to bowl my normal way (which is to bend my left knee pretty deeply at the point of delivery) was not going to be possible. I kept trying to find a way to compensate, but the pain was getting progressively worse, as was my score. My second game score was 106, and I threw the first gutter ball I’ve thrown in a loooong time. I just couldn’t control the ball without real pain., so I sat out the third game.

I didn’t miss any work, but I was pretty uncomfortable on Thursday, having to sit in a chair all day not helping. Thursday night, I took Advil and Tylenol PM, so at least I slept better than I did on Wednesday night. I’m still stiff and a bit sore today, but doing better.

What’s aggravating me most is that J. is moving in with me on Thursday, and I was really planning to shift some of my stuff around (mostly from the garage), but I’m hesitant to do much lifting right now. Fortunately, she’s having movers do all the furniture/box moving, but we still need to make room for stuff here.

I’m so excited about her moving here. We were saying last night that it feels so natural. She’s been here non-stop since before Christmas, and moving in seems like such a natural extension of the comfort level we feel with one another. And of course, her getting the job less than 2.5 miles from here makes us both feel like there’s some reason it’s all worked out so well.

Oh, and unrelated to everything I’ve written so far, I finally came out to my boss at work. We were having a conversation at lunch about some difficult issues at work, and it just seemed like a good time to be forthright about my place there, and what a discovery about my being gay might result in.

She seemed to have no problem with it, and was very surprised by the fact that I am gay. She did seem genuinely surprised, even though I feel like it’s written all over me. 🙂 While I told her that I don’t go around talking about my personal life all the time, I’m glad I don’t have to be so careful who I talk about and how many times, and such. I will NOT go back to living like that again.

I’m going to Birmingham tomorrow to spend the night with a friend, but mostly to have lunch with my buddies at WMU. I really miss seeing those folks, so I took a day off work so that I could meet with them while they’re all there during a work day. I’m not looking forward to the drive, and I wish J. could go with me, but there’s no one to watch Jackson (the dog), and she wants to spend the time packing anyway.

That’s pretty much it for catching up.

Written by blogicalinks

January 12, 2008 at 10:47 am

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the update – hope you feel better. BTW, if you need any help moving stuff around the house, let me know.

    Eric

    January 12, 2008 at 11:36 am

  2. I read two people blog about hurting their backs this week online and I must stay that’s “no fun, no fun at all!” Glad to have the update though.

    titration

    January 12, 2008 at 12:38 pm

  3. Ouch! Sorry to hear about the back! That’s terrible. Congrats for coming out to your boss. I’m glad that worked out so well for you. My management changes like the wind so I don’t usually bother. I can help move also if I don’t have plans. I am going on that Len Foote hike this weekend through Carolyn Bibb and I don’t if it is bother Fri and Sat or just Sat. Thanks for the update!

    Donna

    January 14, 2008 at 9:28 am

  4. Kudos on coming out at work! It is amazing when you think you’re screaming “I’m Gay!!” and yet some people just don’t have a clue. Makes you wonder if they live in Iran where they “don’t have gay people.” Whatever. WMU-land is driving me bonkers. It was good seeing you today. Did you get out of the building today with your stolen goods? =)

    stephanie

    January 14, 2008 at 3:44 pm

  5. I know a great chiropractor!

    Ru's Mom

    January 14, 2008 at 6:23 pm

  6. Wow – that’s great about your boss. I know you kind of expected a scary reaction so that’s good news. I hope your back gets better. Let the movers do as much of it as possible. Back pain is a drag. 😦

    Dianne

    January 14, 2008 at 9:32 pm


Leave a Reply

