blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Bowling… Again.

with 6 comments

images.jpgTonight, I start bowling in a league with JP and her friends from church. I’m really looking forward to the fellowship and the bowling, but I’m NOT looking forward to the time frame. They start at 8:45 and go until 11:00!! Then, it takes at least 30 minutes to get back home. For a school night, that’s kinda late to be out and about. But, I’m counting on it being fun, so I think it will be worth it.

It’s been at least four years since I’ve been on a league, and I haven’t bowled but maybe once or twice during that time, so there’s no telling what I’ll be like tonight. Hopefully, I won’t humiliate myself!! My average during the three years I bowled regularly fluctuated between 140 & 155. If can get back to that in the next few weeks, I’ll be okay with that.

Just FYI, my highest score ever was 269!! I still have the printout because I figured no one would believe me except for the friends that were there with me, and also, just so I’d have a record of it. Unfortunately, I didn’t bowl it during a league game, so it’s no where in any official records.

I remember so well the first nine frames. I got a spare in the first and then eight strikes in a row. The tenth frame, I can’t remember exactly how the pins fell, but I remember that a spare wasn’t involved. What was really odd was that I’d never gotten beyond four strikes in a row prior to that night. By time I got to the eight one, I was practically sweating bullets when it was my turn to go. I guess I choked during the 10th frame.

Anyway, we’ll see how it goes, but I’m really looking forward to making more new friends and getting back into bowling.

How about y’all? Enjoy bowling? What’s your high score or a memorable game?

Written by blogicalinks

January 2, 2008 at 7:09 pm

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m an expert in gutter balls.
    But, I enjoy it anyway! 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    January 2, 2008 at 7:28 pm

  2. I’m pretty good with gutter balls too! And gutter jokes too, for that matter.

    Dianne

    January 2, 2008 at 8:23 pm

  3. Okay, D, share! C’mon, let us hear some good ones! 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    January 2, 2008 at 8:36 pm

  4. I haven’t bowled in years. No idea. But I’m sure you can bowl tons of strikes.

    titration

    January 2, 2008 at 10:07 pm

  5. Since my mind is always in the gutter…

    Actually, I do real well in the second half of my first game and the first half of my second game. Take that chunk out of the middle, and we’re talking PBA! After about 2 games, though, my elbow is screaming so loud that I can hardly lift my car keys, much less a bowling ball.

    Eric

    January 3, 2008 at 8:33 am

  6. Is that you in your bowling outfit?
    Woo-hoo! 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    January 4, 2008 at 4:40 am


Leave a Reply

