blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

[Curtain Comes Down]

with 3 comments

Well, here we are at the end of another year. Like almost everyone else, I find myself being both introspective about the past and forward looking into the future.

This past year has been eventful, to say the least… breaking up, moving, buying a house, starting a job, quitting a job, starting another job, starting another relationship. Whew!! I’m about as wo out as a lady can get…!!

Of course, in the midst of all that I met some wonderful people who’ve turned into wonderful friends, and I look forward to the new year and the many ways we will spend time with one another and continue to enjoy each other’s friendships.

As I explained in my last post, I also have a wonderful new primary relationship, and I had forgotten how much a new year can feel sooo exciting as I think of all the fun things we can/will do together.

And last night, J. and I went to church together. It has been a looonnnnggg time since I went to church aside from going with my parents when I visit them. I realize how much I miss the community that a church provides. I miss the beautiful songs. I miss encouraging, uplifting messages of hope. I miss reading the Bible and meditating on it. But as I was telling J., I still struggle with issues of not believing the things I used to believe. For every “answer” given by scriptures or the church, I have 20 questions. I don’t want to get involved in something spiritual because it feels good emotionally. I want to believe in something because it’s REAL!! I have to confess, however, that there was an EXTREMELY strong pull toward something last night, and I’m not sure whether it was all nostalgia or remembrance or something real. I have a lot of thinking to do about all of this in the next few days. It feels like something that needs to be decided/settled in me soon.

I wish I had profound things to say that summed up the year or which provides some insight into what I think the coming year might bring, but I don’t. And I’ve got things to do in preparation for a get together tonight, so I’m feeling too rushed to sit here and think about it too long.

I hope my readers have a great time tonight as they welcome in the new year. I hope it brings you peace, friendship, love, and laughter.

Written by blogicalinks

December 31, 2007 at 1:09 pm

Posted in Sharing

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Same back at ya – although I know the “truth” about your “get-together” tonight. It was only back “on” when I had other plans! Well, at least it’s good to know one’s place 🙂

    Happy New Year to you too! I’m hoping for peace, friendship, love and laughter. Not so sure about romantic love, but the first four sound mighty good.

    Glad 2007 brought you into my life, my friend. (Thanks, Dianne!)

    Ru's Mom

    December 31, 2007 at 1:24 pm

  2. I hoped for peace, friendship, and laughter in 2007, and I got you and the rest of the family. I can only imagine what 2008 is going to bring!

    …and if the love thing happens, then all the better, I guess.

    Eric

    December 31, 2007 at 2:29 pm

  3. Having someone next to me at St. Mark will be a BIG sign (for me) that this person is a good, strong “maybe” 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    January 2, 2008 at 7:37 pm


Leave a Reply

