blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Christmas Shopping

with 3 comments

images.jpgWe had our Christmas luncheon at work today, and my employer generously gave us the day off after we were done with lunch. So I took the opportunity to start my Christmas shopping. I don’t have that many people to shop for, but still, it’s got to get done!

Here’s the way I Christmas shop: Around October, I start really listening to what people are saying about what’s going on with them and what they like/need/want. (Not that I don’t listen to what people are saying the other ten months of the year, but I’m speaking in regards to how it might apply to gift giving. 🙂 Sometimes, I’ve not got much of a clue of what people want or need, but I do have decent ideas of things they might like.

I keep a written list of items for these people, and when I find/make time to shop, I just go in and get it done. I don’t do a lot of browsing.

And unless it’s books, I tend to NOT do much online shopping. I like being able to interact with something physically.

So, my questions:
How do you do your shopping? Do you wait until right before Christmas to start? Do you start a couple of months out? Or do you shop all year long?

Do you know what you’re getting folks before you go shopping? Or do you just shop until you see something appropriate?

Do you do much online shopping? If so, what percentage would you say is online?

Do you give yourself an overall budget and make all gifts total inside that budget? Or do you budget each gift individually? Or do you budget at all?

Let me know what you think!

Written by blogicalinks

December 20, 2007 at 3:01 am

Posted in Whatever

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! Lots of questions. 🙂
    My biggest problem is choosing something for 4 “girls” and now 4 “guys” in my family – the “kids” who are mostly grown up now. I truly delight in finding something unique for them. I love what I have for the girls. Still stumped on what to do for the boys. The siblings and I don’t exchange presents. Most years I have the family presents chosen by October. I hate spending a lot of money at one time.

    I do try to listen for something someone may really like and make a mental note. That’s my favorite part of the whole holiday season. Good matches between the person and the gift. And, I budget. We just don’t spend a lot of money on each other. I like online shopping, but don’t “browse” online but pick out things I’m already familiar with.

    Only Randy could get me to an outlet mall for shopping. I avoid malls of all kinds – because I always can find something I want – and probably don’t need. I’m thrilled with the gifts for the girls I found on our day at the Pigeon Forge outlets.

    My funniest story from this year. I was so tickled with the things I bought the girls, I just had to call Frannie and tell her about it. Finally, she blurted out that she had bought the same thing for me! We laughed and laughed and laughed. Hmmm… maybe that’s a sign that I need to go shopping more. Hmmm…maybe not!

    Ru's Mom

    December 20, 2007 at 4:51 am

  2. I do the same thing, generally. I start around October or November to think about good gifts. I keep a running list. It used to be on my PDA and in Outlook, but this year, I moved it over to Google Documents so I could access it anywhere. I put ??? when I can’t figure out what to get, and highlight the gifts that aren’t bought (so I can quickly see what’s left). Usually, I only have 1 or 2 ??? items, and by the time Christmas gets close, I’ve figured those out. In fact, my aunt and uncle were the only ??? I had left this year, and I decided to get them a little collection of “Georgia-grown” food gifts (like pecans, pepper jelly, and Geraldine’s cheese straws). Some of the family gets gift cards, and this year I was able to take my jar of change to a Coinstar machine at Ingles and use the change to buy Amazon and Cracker Barrel gift cards (which helped with the budget thing). Speaking of budget, my only rule is “no credit cards!” As long as I can pay cash for gifts, I’m okay. I generally spend around $25-30 per family member or, a little more for my parents.

    Eric

    December 20, 2007 at 6:50 am

  3. Forgot to mention that I don’t do a lot of onine shopping (none this year, in fact). I find it much better to buy stuff in person, and it’s a lot easier for me to keep track of stuff. I would otherwise panic that the gifts would not be delivered in time.

    Eric Kaplan

    December 20, 2007 at 9:31 am


Leave a Reply

