blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

More on Dan

with 2 comments

Those of you who know me to any degree at all or those of you who have read my blog for any length of time know that I have been a huge Dan Fogelberg fan since I was a freshman in college. The news of his death has really made me sad since last night and today when I’ve thought about it and as I’ve been reading others’ thoughts about it.

His music is so wrapped up with so many milestones in my life: leaving home; going to college; falling in love for the first time; realizing who I really am; time with friends; first real job; first apartment; being in love; feeling heartache and loss for the first time. So many powerful emotions and so many phases of my life are intertwined with his music as the soundtrack. Even when I was heavy into contemporary Christian music, my favorite artist was Michael Card, who sounds almost exactly like Dan.

Sure, all kinds of music and other artists have captured my attention, but no artist has spanned my adult life like Dan has. It’s weird to be so affected by someone I’ve never met, and certainly didn’t “know.”

I’ve been reading different blogs offering their tribute to Dan. Many of them spoke of his lack of widespread fame, but also of his devoted following. Indeed, it seemed if you got hooked early, you stayed hooked. The johnny-come-latelys only know him through “Leader of the Band,” “Same Auld Land Syne,” “Run for the Roses” and a few more hits that got a little radio play. Those are good songs, no doubt, but not, by a long shot, his best.

All of us fans have our favorites. If I had to narrow it down to one (and that would be a monumental task), I would have to choose “To the Morning.” It was from his very first album “Home Free,” which he made when he was just 17 years old. Can you imagine having this kind of talent and sensitivity at 17?!?

I couldn’t help but think that as he died yesterday at 6:00am, this song would have taken on an even more poignant meaning about not being able to stop the passage of time. The ONLY place I could find this song so all of you can hear it, is to link to this strange YouTube video. My advice: start the video, listen to the song, but come back here to read the lyrics.

(Sigh) I never knew him, but I’ll miss him.

“To the Morning”

Watching the sun
Watching it come
Watching it come up over the rooftops.

Cloudy and warm
Maybe a storm
You can never quite tell
From the morning.

Chorus
And it’s going to be a day
There is really no way to say “no”
To the morning.

Yes it’s going to be a day
There is really nothing left to say
but “Come on, morning.”

Waiting for mail
Maybe a tale
From an old friend
Or even a lover.

Sometimes there’s none
But we have fun
Thinking of all who might
Have written.

And maybe there are seasons
And maybe they change
And maybe to love is not so strange.

(instrumental)

The sounds of the day
Now, they hurry away
Now they are gone until tomorrow…

When day will break
And you will wake
And you will rake your hands
Across your eyes
And realize

That it’s going to be a day
There is really no way to say “no”
To the morning.

Yes it’s going to be a day
There is really nothing left to say but
“Come on, morning.”

And maybe there are seasons
And maybe they change
And maybe to love is not so strange.

Written by blogicalinks

December 17, 2007 at 11:07 pm

Posted in Sharing

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I grew up in Denver, Colorado. As young girls, my friends and I used to fantasize about running into Dan at a grocery in Nederlands (above Boulder), just like in his song. When I was young (eight or so), I thought I would die of longing for Paul McCartney. Then it was James Taylor. But once I heard Dan, that was it; he became the crush of my life. The perfect, sensitive man who caused all other males to pale in comparison.

    Some people remember where they were when they first heard the devastating news about Princess Diana, or Elvis. I don’t. I do remember, the one and only time in my life that I saw my father cry. My parents had taken me (just me, not my brother or sister) to Disney World and then around Florida. I awoke to the sound of my father weeping in a hotel room in West Palm Beach Florida. John Lennon has just been shot. As devastating as that was, nothing could have prepared me for the news I saw yesterday. My favorite musician of all time, the man I had a crush on since the first time I heard his music and was captured forever by the beauty and sensitity of his lyrics and his absolute mastery of all things musical, the man upon which I would compare with every man I ever met (NONE of them ever lived up to my image of Dan), the man who provided the soundtrack of my youth and put words to the feelings in my soul has left. My only consolation is that his glorious, thoughtful and soul-reaching music will live on forever. God
    Bless you Dan for all you have given to me. You will never know how much you mattered and how much you molded my life. You will never be forgotten, but you will be forever missed and mourned by one Colorado girl who adored you.

    Kathryn

    December 18, 2007 at 10:11 am

  2. I too was hooked so to say early. I went to college at Bradley University in Peoria Ill. and had the wonderful experience of seeing Dan play to a small group in a local late night “spot”. I went on a one night date with a guy from my brother’s frat. house who had graduated from high-school with Dan, and though the guy didn’t last , Dan, his music and his spirit have lived on with me to this day in everything I do.
    I’ve followed his music through my marriage to my husband of 31 years (I converted him, and we’ve both enjoyed his concerts.) My children have all grown up listening to his music from before birth.
    Life is not for the weak of spirit, this I have had to learn in my long years as a nurse, but to have had the beautiful music, to sooth and inspire our hearts and souls of this complicated yet dedicated man has made some of the toughest times more bearable. I know my family is deeply saddened by the loss of this great minstrel who never got the fame I know he well deserved.

    Lori

    December 18, 2007 at 6:52 pm


Leave a Reply

