blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

So Many Things…

with 7 comments

It’s a Saturday morning, and I’m sitting here drinking my coffee, wondering what to write about. I’ve been gone so long from blogging on a regular basis, that I feel somewhat overwhelmed by all of the topics I’ve thought about the past several weeks, thinking “I’ll blog about that later.” Well, here’s later. I only have a short amount of time to write before I have get going for the day, so I’ll write about the thing that’s most on my mind.

I really like my job so far. I like the people, I’m enjoying the work, the environment is nice as well. There’s only one thing that’s giving me pause, and that’s the CEO. He’s a very “vocal” Christian. He writes an article each day wherein he espouses a very fundamentalist point of view about the Bible and social issues. Needless to say, homosexuality is always mentioned when he lists the “evils” that he sees in the world.

I subscribed to his daily updates because I heard my co-workers referring to it every now and then. Some days, the articles are interesting or humorous, but they end on a spiritual note. Of course, he can do whatever he wants with his articles, and I did subscribe to it (before I knew his views), and now, I’m sort of reluctant to “unsubscribe.” I think I’ll just keep the subscriptions and delete them before I read them. Reading them makes me feel as bothered as i used to at WMU, when they would publish the stories by Baptist Press…chock full of invectives against liberals, gays, etc.

However, what I’m really concerned about is this: while the CEO states that he does not expect everyone who works for him to be a Christian, it’s obvious that he is mightily against homosexuality. I’m concerned that if he finds out that I’m gay, it might affect my position there. I’m on “probation” for the first two months of employment, so on Jan. 1, assuming everything goes as I expect, I will receive full benefits and the offer to continue employment.

My dilemma: Should I bring up to my supervisor that I’m gay, and just be upfront about it with her now and find out what her thoughts about his reactions would be? Should I say, “this is who I am, and while I don’t want to make a fuss about it, I also don’t want to get fired down the road if it’s found out or if I come out to a co-worker.” If her thought is that I would get fired down the road if discovered, I’d rather just quit now and be done with it.
OR
Should I just lay low, do a good job, make myself as invaluable as possible; then, if I come out or get found out, just let the chips fall where they may?

The main thing to know here is that I’m NOT going to lie if I’m directly confronted. I’m not ashamed of who I am or the people in my life, and I won’t make apologies for any of us. I don’t ever wave my private life in people’s face, but neither do I treat it like it’s something to be hidden. I do think that in this environment, especially in the beginning as I’m establishing myself and gauging people’s temperaments, discretion is a good thing. I just don’t want to feel like it’s going to continue forever where I have to be guarded.

I HATE this, that this is even an issue regarding my employment. I’m a damn good employee—competent, honest, hard-working, innovative, etc.—and the fact that I’m worried about what my boss thinks about my PRIVATE life based on his prejudices aggravates the dickens out of me!!! What century are we still living in?!?! Of course, he can thing and believe what he wants, but the fact that he could get rid of me because of this issue, leaving me with NO legal recourse, is abominable as far as I’m concerned.

Oh well, if the worst happens, and if I get fired for something this stupid, then, well, they didn’t deserve me anyway. I guess that’s just the way I’ll have to approach it.

Any thoughts, advice on this?

*********

Health update: FRIDAY: three glasses (16 oz.) of water; two pieces of fudge; lunch: leftover spaghetti; dinner: soup, chips and cheese queso, and a deliciously sinful piece of cheesecake (It was a party! What could I do?!?); one softdrink at work, and a few sips of one at the party

Written by blogicalinks

December 15, 2007 at 11:39 am

Posted in Sharing, Venting

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This option is what I do at my job… “just lay low, do a good job, make myself as invaluable as possible; then, if I come out or get found out, just let the chips fall where they may”

    But yeah hard stuff!

    titration

    December 15, 2007 at 2:48 pm

  2. It SHOULD NOT be an issue! Your personal life has no bearing in how you perform your job, so it should not be a factor. That being said, though, if I were in your shoes, I think I would tend towards not mentioning it. I wouldn’t lie about it, but I wouldn’t bring it up either. If, especially after Jan 1, it becomes an issue and they terminate you as a result, I think there might be some serious legal ramifications there. There is at least some media and negative publicity ramifications there if nothing else. But I wouldn’t hold that as a threat, either. Maybe it’s best as this: You focus on your work and being the best employee there is, and hopefully they will do the same.

    As for the health stuff, here is a bit of advice: moderation. I know that sounds cliche and simple, but it works. A small taste of something, even something “evil”, is a lot better than denying yourself of something you like, and then binging until you burst (and subsequently feel guilty). A piece of fudge or cheesecake is okay, provided you don’t eat the whole pan, and don’t make a habit of doing such

    Eric

    December 15, 2007 at 8:06 pm

  3. Don’t say anything. Do your job. Just concentrate on your job.
    If there are problems later, heaven help HIM when he tries to terminate you based on your sexuality.

    If you feel like you are being deceptive, ask yourself this question – “How much do you know about HIS sex life?”. Hopefully, the answer is “Nothing”. And, that’s what he has a right to know about yours.

    And, if something bad happens down the road, I know of a great attorney in Atlanta and she would love to take a case like this.

    Ru's Mom

    December 17, 2007 at 1:41 pm

  4. I agree with the others – lay low and be a good employee. Maybe when/if he eventually finds out, you will shatter his little world when he realizes you are a GOOD person and that there is nothing evil about you. And that you didn’t destroy the sanctity of his marriage just by being in the room with him! And yeah, if you get fired one day over this, there are some serious legal and media issues he’d face.

    Dianne

    December 20, 2007 at 10:35 am

  5. Chery, whassup?

    I thought it was illegal to fire or not promote someone based on their sexuality rather than their job performance?

    Lynn

    January 30, 2008 at 2:11 pm

  6. Not in this state (and not in most states)

    Ru's Mom

    January 30, 2008 at 4:19 pm

  7. Well, blatant discrimination like that is not permissible, but GA, like AL, is a “fire at will” state. So they could terminate me and give no reason at all and be within legal limits (even if the real reason was my sexuality). That’s what I was getting at.

    ‘Sup, Lynn? 🙂

    Cheryl

    January 31, 2008 at 12:29 am


Leave a Reply

