blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Bowling and a Moment of Determination

with 4 comments

Tonight, I went to watch Jane and her team from church bowl. The team they were bowling had a man who I didn’t really pay attention to as everyone milled about.

When it was his time to bowl, he shuffled slowly to pick up his ball, the shuffled slowly to the foul line, ball gripped in one hand. At the foul line, he leaned over and dropped/guided the ball slowly down the lane. His delivery was what got my attention. As he turned around to come back to wait for his second ball, I realized that he must have had a stroke. His non-bowling arm (his right) dangled limply and useless at his side, and it was his right leg that caused his slow, deliberate shuffle. His demeanor and his facial expression (whether caused by the stroke or not, I don’t know) was very calm and non-animated.

He continued methodically making his way through the first game. At about frame 7 or 8, he rolled the ball as usual, and it resulted in a strike. As he turned around, the smile on his face was priceless. His team and Jane’s team gave him high fives all around.

I don’t know whether I’m just overly emotional or whether I was supposed to be at that time and place to be reminded of something I’ve forgotten along the way, but I almost got teary at his obvious pleasure. I don’t know how long it had been since he’d gotten a strike, having to bowl as he does, but I do know it was the only one he got tonight.

My lesson? Not to take my health for granted. I’m sitting here feeling a size 16 pair of blue jeans squeeze my waist. I get winded walking up my stairs. I come home and I sit and watch TV, play on the computer, and eat. Mostly, I consume sooo many empty calories every single day in the form of soft drinks. Other than the taste, there’s not one redeeming thing about them. They’re bad for my teeth, they are devoid of nutrients, they make me think I’m not really thirsty for the water I REALLY need, they are full of preservatives, they make my liver and kidneys work even harder to keep me detoxified.

It’s not just the soft drinks. It’s my entire way of (mis)treating my body. I have been so blessed with good health all of my life and with some natural athletic talent. I don’t want to get to the point where my body finally revolts because of my bad choices.

Sure, I might turn a page in my life and start getting healthier, and I might still have a stroke, a heart attack, or an accident. As much as I don’t want that to happen, I could deal with it if I felt like I didn’t bring it on myself out of laziness. (And I’m in no way implying the bowling man’s stroke had anything to do with him. I have no idea what his circumstances were/are.)

Anyway, I’m not waiting until the new year to start anew. I’ve been finding reasons to put off taking responsibility for a healthier life for too long.

Why am I telling y’all this? Because I want some accountability, and part of that is starting to let y’all know on a regular basis what I’m doing and how I’m doing on what I’m sure will be a difficult journey. I’m going to use my blog sort of as an journal to keep myself honest.

I do hope that if my last few years of unhealthy eating and inertia lead to something bad, I can at least still enjoy the comaraderie of friends and revel in what a strike in bowling feels like.

Written by blogicalinks

December 13, 2007 at 12:30 am

Posted in Sharing

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can cheerlead this. 🙂 And the reminder to live life! And this reminds me that I just learned where I live there is this bowling league of lesbians (so I hear) and they are so big they rent the whole bowling alley. That’s kindof cool.

    titration

    December 13, 2007 at 2:39 am

  2. I can be a cheerleader for you, too (but don’t expect me to wear one of those little skirts and carry pom-poms!). But, yeah, don’t forget to live life, too.

    Eric

    December 13, 2007 at 6:51 am

  3. Great blog! It is soooo good reading your blog again.
    What a great story. What a great spirit. I’m so glad you shared the story about him.
    I know exactly how you feel. I hate feeling old, walking old, knowing this old body has to make it for 50 more years. I gotta do something to get flexibility and fluidity back.
    This gallbladder thing really has been a gift. I’ve lost a few lbs. on my mostly Gatorade/soup/ saltines/ toast diet – and I love the results. I may keep it up for a longer time. I’m enjoying my Progressive soup of the day 🙂
    I’ll wish you luck and I’ll nag you a little bit.
    And, NOW I know what to get Eric for Christmas! A little skirt and pom-poms! 😀

    Ru's Mom

    December 14, 2007 at 5:49 am

  4. Wha is Zaxby’s going to do without you??
    I can’t wait to see Eric in his skirt!

    Dianne

    December 19, 2007 at 3:51 pm


Leave a Reply

