blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Here’s the Deal…

with 5 comments

Okay, for the longest time, I didn’t have my wireless connection, and so I blamed my lack of writing on that. Now I have my Airport Express, but still haven’t hooked it up.

Why, you ask? What’s consuming my time so much that I haven’t gotten back to writing down my thoughts (since I know the whole world is just quivering in anticipation to hear from me)?

Well, I’m smitten with someone… and so whatever time is not taken up with working and sleeping and errand running is being taken up with getting to know this new person in my life. Some of you have met her, some of you have not. I’m not going to say it’s a long-term type thing yet, ’cause I’m not going to rush into this relationship like I have in the past… and neither is she.

I won’t go into who she is or what she’s like ’cause if it doesn’t work out, then it will sound like I’m gushing for nothing. However, now that I’ve allowed my heart to turn toward her and to imagine some possibilities for a future, it feels good.

Sure, I’ve wrangled (and still do) with the “what ifs” and “how do you know” and even some “what if the RIGHT person” is someone else in front of me, or perhaps someone I haven’t even met yet. One of the things that grieves me so about the failure of a primary relationship is the intensity with which I feel the “wasted time.” Did I miss the person I was supposed to be with because I was focused on the person I’m actually with? Am I emphasing the wrong things in the relationship? Do I know the things that actually strengthen the possibility of long-term commitments? ‘Cause that’s what I want!!

At this point in my life, I wish I’d been with someone for at least 20 years. And what do I have instead? Three failed relationships. But I do believe that love can last with the right person, and so with whatever emotional tools I have at the time, I will keep looking for and believing in it.

So bear with me a bit longer. My blog energy has been redirected termporarily as she and I spend more time together. I’m sure it will get back to normal eventually, but for now, it’s only a sporadic thing.

Written by blogicalinks

November 29, 2007 at 7:48 pm

Posted in Sharing

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oooo. That’s so exciting! It’s a bummer that the thing that is keeping you from blogging is the thing that would be way interesting to hear you blog about, in general terms of course. But you know sporadic is good too. 🙂

    titration

    November 29, 2007 at 9:14 pm

  2. Personally, I’m willing to trade in the frequent blog postings if it means you’ve got someone special who is making you happy. Congratulations! I wish you and her nothing but the best.

    Eric

    November 30, 2007 at 7:02 am

  3. Oooohhhh! Goody! “Smitten” is soooo much fun!
    Good for you! Well, good for BOTH of you! Wishing you fun “discovering”.
    My therapist is a big proponent of “just dating”. “Try, Just Dating, gather information, learn more about the other person and Just Date”. That advice has come in awfully handy for me in the last couple of years. But, ENJOY IT!!!
    Oh, goody! Smitten! 🙂
    Oh, yeah. But, still try to find time for blogging too! 😀

    Ru's Mom

    November 30, 2007 at 8:08 pm

  4. Oh, there’s still time for 20 years. You can just do it a bit differently than you originally thought.

    Ru's Mom

    November 30, 2007 at 8:09 pm

  5. Yippee!

    Dianne

    December 2, 2007 at 12:16 am


Leave a Reply

