blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

What Would Your Gravestone Look Like?

with 8 comments

While walking in a cemetery near the lake at the cabin, I came across this gravestone with an elaborate etching of a fishing scene. (Click photo for detail.) I’ve never seen anything like this except in the back of pickup truck windows… usually a truck with a confederate flag somewhere on the bumper. Obviously, someone was quite into fishing… so much so that either he or his family thought it represented him enough that it should mark his final resting place. (Ed. note: This is the back of the tombstone.)

So, question: What image would be on your tombstone?

Me? I’m thinking a clown reading a trivia book. 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

October 12, 2007 at 12:12 pm

Posted in Whatever

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, that’s an elaborate gravestone design. I don’t even see his(/maybe her?) name on there anywhere.

    If I had to have an image, I’m not sure what all of it would be, some sort of landscape I’m sure or maybe cityscape, but you know there will be at least one boxer on there. 😛

    Carmen

    October 12, 2007 at 12:36 pm

  2. I’d like my gravestone to read “The World was a better place because Eric was in it.”

    And then maybe a big smiley face on it, or something else light and funny!

    Eric

    October 12, 2007 at 1:57 pm

  3. Ok, that makes sense, Cheryl. Eric you are too funny!!! But at the same time, I agree!

    Carmen

    October 12, 2007 at 2:43 pm

  4. Cheryl took a picture of my tombstone this weekend. I’ll post it on my blog. Ru is sitting next to it.

    (I asked Randy to add the spot as one of the places to spread my ashes. It was a very beautiful and peaceful place to return to the earth).

    I liked the solar lights planted at the corners of the grave plots 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    October 12, 2007 at 4:00 pm

  5. That’s a good question, but since my life is (hopefully) less than half over, I don’t know what one picture will sum it all up when I’m gone. If I died today, I’d want a collage of my pets, friends, and family on it because that’s what has meant the most to me in life. I suspect the answer will be the same 50 years from now, but ask me again then. I might have a “cause” or something I devoted my life to by then. LOL!!

    I do want my full name and dates on it. As a genealogist, I like it when there is no guessing involved. Not that I’m going to have any great great grandkids to care, but still… Somebody please make sure it’s all spelled correctly and that there is a CAPITAL L.

    Simba

    October 14, 2007 at 4:50 pm

  6. Wow what a gravestone! Since I prefer to be cremated not buried it’s hard for me to imagine a tombstone. My claustrophobia keeps me from the thought of being planted in one spot underground for all of eternity. If I had to pick an image I guess it would be a tree or plant. Something that implies continued growth which I think life and the after life is all about. Maybe my previous pets collar’s can be put in there with me because they will always be special to me.

    Donna

    October 15, 2007 at 6:46 pm

  7. Me too, Donna.

    My mom actually brought up the topic at dinner last week. I was VERY surprised. She evidently has accepted the cremation thing. I do NOT want to be planted in the ground.

    Ru's Mom

    October 15, 2007 at 11:29 pm


Leave a Reply

