blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

About the Job

with 7 comments

horizonlogo.gifHmmm, where to start? First, I’m pretty excited about this job. I think the thing that makes me feel so good about it is how the Director of Marketing really worked with me, and we found an acceptable compromise, salary-wise, to compensate for their not allowing me to freelance anymore after I’ve finished my current two contracts. As I’ve told several folks, I think giving up the freelance is a short-term loss for a long-term gain.

And I say that for several reasons: 1) My big client could drop me next year for any reason or no reason, and then where would I be? Probably wishing I’d taken this job! 2) Honestly, while I know I’ll miss the good money, I get really tired of freelancing. It’s hard to work a full-time job during the day and then try to keep being creative and interested in working during the evenings and on weekends. I’ve been working full time and freelancing together for over 15 years, so I think I deserve a break. 3) I feel like this really is a company that I can grow with and move up. So eventually, maybe, I’ll be at a place where the salary is making up for the full diffference. Who knows?

The company is called Horizon Software. From their own Web site:

We are an Atlanta-based technology company offering comprehensive foodservice solutions ranging from Point of Service to Back of the House management systems including inventory management, procurement, menu planning, nutrition analysis, warehouse distribution and more. Our product offering provides clients with fully customizable and scalable software solutions able to meet the needs and budget of any foodservice operation.

And from another site:

Horizon is currently a preferred vendor for 28 food service management companies, including the three largest in the world. In addition to the military market, Horizon’s products are installed in hospitals (including patient feeding and cafeterias), retirement communities, K-12 public and private school cafeterias, colleges and universities, correctional facilities, and corporate restaurants, entailing some 14,000 installations.

Horizon currently has 170 employees and develops and supports all of its offerings in-house. Deloitte awarded Horizon its “Fast 50” award for the past two years for being one of the fastest growing technology companies in Georgia.

Not glamorous subject matter (but hey, at least it’s not wastewater treatment plants! :), but their marketing collateral is very nice and well-branded, so I know I’ll be working on high quality pieces.

I start work on Friday, Oct. 26th. I know, it’s odd to start on a Friday, but the DM wants to be there on my first day, and she’s going to be out of town on the following Monday and Tuesday, so that’s why.

Other than that, I don’t know what to say about it except that in my “gut,” it feels like it’s going to be better than the last place, and that means a lot to me. I guess only time will tell if I’m right.

Thanks for all the “good lucks” before today and all the “congratulations” afterwards. It means a lot to me to know there are friends rooting for me. 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

October 11, 2007 at 9:46 pm

Posted in Sharing

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations! It sounds like a really good move – and the right move for all sorts of reasons.

    Whatcha gonna do during the rest of your “vacation”?

    Ru's Mom

    October 11, 2007 at 10:49 pm

  2. Hrmmm… How do you market food service software? I’m guessing with FOOD! “Today we’re featuring our new chocolate-cake inventory and nutrional management software suite” as exemplified by this luscious slice of chocolate cake!

    Okay – I’m not trying to make light of the work (please don’t take it that way). I’m thinking there could be nice little “perks” for being in this line of work. Say, for example, the next 5-star restaurant to open features Horizon software, and your company “just has to” make sure the product works?

    I’m glad you had a good ‘gut’ feel for this. I think it’s going to work out well for you.

    Eric

    October 12, 2007 at 5:34 am

  3. ooh, yeah, Eric if that happens let’s volunteer to be Cheryl’s guests. Congrats again! Dianne and I know someone at Piedmont Hospital who runs the food servicing software. We’ll have to hook you both up so you can ‘talk shop’.

    Donna

    October 12, 2007 at 9:57 am

  4. Congratulations!!!!!! I’m glad you got the job you wanted and had a good feeling about. Sometimes the answer is all in the gut feeling. I’m so glad they came to a compromise with you and that the salary makes up for it anyway. Just think of the freetime you’ll have now at home!

    Carmen

    October 12, 2007 at 11:59 am

  5. Eric, I don’t think that’s what she meant by “gut” LOL! But hey, free food is never a bad thing!

    Yippee for Cheryl!!!!!!! I’m excited to pieces for you!!

    Simba

    October 14, 2007 at 4:44 pm


Leave a Reply

