blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

My Favorite Photo

with 4 comments

peacelilly-small.jpgHere’s my very favorite photo that I’ve ever taken. I just love how dramatic and elegant it is. The only PhotoShop work that I did on it was to convert it from a color to a grayscale image and crop it. But other than the green of the stem, the flower was really white, and the background was a black door. The crop is so close on the left because other leaves and stuff were taking away from the elegance of this one flower.

I had just gotten my Nikon D-70 (which, frankly, I think took better photos than my D-80), and I was sitting on the porch at WMU. The WMU building had a wonderful glassed-in porch with several rocking chairs running its 40″+ length. And there were several well-tended plants on the porch as well.

One day, I was taking a break as I (and usually Wenzday) often did, and I saw one of the peace lillies against the black door. It was a striking contrast, and so I snapped this photo. Who knew that spontaneous moment would end up being my favorite?

Written by blogicalinks

October 10, 2007 at 11:43 pm

Posted in Sharing

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very nice! Amazing how our most ‘abstract’ images are often those that incorporate good ol’ Mother Nature in the mix.

    I don’t know that I have a favorite, because I’m still growing my skills. But I do like my shot of a red 1969 Camaro where all I got was the front quarter fender. This, IMHO, marked my transition from snapshots to photographs. And the ’69 Camaro is my all-time favorite car, so it has a special place in my heart.

    Eric

    October 11, 2007 at 5:24 am

  2. That is really beautiful!!! I love the crispness and the organic lines in the flower.

    Carmen

    October 11, 2007 at 11:51 am

  3. Wow, I love the contrast between white on black.

    Donna

    October 11, 2007 at 5:58 pm

  4. Cool.

    Simba

    October 14, 2007 at 4:39 pm


Leave a Reply

