blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Time at the Lake

with 7 comments

I have photos to share from this weekend, but I’ll post those separately. My camera bag is in the car, and I’m too lazy right now to walk to the garage to get it. πŸ™‚

First of all, I got to the cabin about halfway into the first quarter of the Auburn/Vanderbilt game. Fortunately, I was able to stop watching at the end of the third quarter, pretty confident that the Tigers had the game well in hand, so we left to walk around the lake and take photos. We had such a great time, getting to know our new friend, Randy, a little better, and taking in the sights along the trail.

I was trying to take RAW image photos so that I could use a piece of software that converts it to HDR photos, but I didn’t really know what I was doing, so I think I messed up the settings on what could have been great photos. Eventually, I gave up trying to do something new and fell back to my old way of shooting. Hopefully, I got a couple of good shots. We’ll see.

When we were done at the lake, we went for a boat ride on Lake Burton on Laura’s fun pontoon boat. (And by the way, she’s an excellent captain! πŸ™‚ There are some gorgeous homes on the lake, and with the lake being in the valley of the surrounding mountains, needless to say, it makes for quite an amazing setting. As we were going back to the marina, the sun was sinking behind the mountains, and its rays were visible behind the clouds. All in all, quite a memorable moment.

As we were riding back from the lake, Laura offered the choice of eating out at a restaurant or eating at the cabin… “just spaghetti and nothing else” (like salad). We all opted for “just spaghetti.” By the time she and Eric were done with it, we had three different kinds of spaghetti and respective sauces, two different bread choices, coleslaw, potato salad, some kind of tomato topping for the bread that was delicious, and tampanade. (I’m not a big olive fan, so I tried it and it was okay, but the folks who like olives thought it was fabulous!)(Oh, and Randy was right… tampanade also refers to a heart condition as well! I love Google. πŸ™‚

After dinner, several of us drank a glass(es) of wine (a delicious pinot grigio) as we sat on the porch and talked and laughed. The air was clean and fresh, and just the slightest bit chilly, just enough that a throw over the legs made it quite comfy. The frogs, cicadas, and crickets serenaded us through the evening and into the night. The conversation was lively and friendly. I can’t imagine it could have been much more perfect. And the most odd thing of it all? Four months ago, none of us really knew one another much at all! Funny how things happen. πŸ™‚

Thanks, Laura, for a great visit. As always, you’re a gracious and generous hostess.

Written by blogicalinks

October 8, 2007 at 12:18 pm

Posted in Sharing

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That sounds awesome. πŸ™‚

    Four months can change a lot of things!

    Simba

    October 8, 2007 at 3:07 pm

  2. I had such a great time this weekend. It was a wonderful weekend with wonderful people. The flow of the weekend just felt “organic”. I’m glad you had a good time πŸ™‚

    I’m so glad “the other Randy” came up and “my Randy” was up there and it was such a nice mix with the “photo blog group”. Sorry Dianne was sick – what a bummer!

    We need to pick out another weekend to do it again!

    Ru's Mom

    October 8, 2007 at 10:28 pm

  3. I’m ready – just name the date! I had a great time over the weekend. It was great meeting some new folks and getting to know them, and it truly is amazing how quickly all of us have become friends.

    I fully intend to post a “what a difference a year makes” entry in my blog. It was going to be my Sunday evening/Monday morning post, until events changed that. Hopefully it will be a mid-week post.

    Eric

    October 9, 2007 at 5:50 am

  4. We can double up on the sleeping options so more people can fit in the place. More people = more fun! πŸ™‚

    Ru's Mom

    October 9, 2007 at 8:03 am

  5. That sounded like a great time. I look forward to seeing your photos!

    Carmen

    October 9, 2007 at 6:08 pm

  6. Hey, that was a wonderful recap and I almost felt like I was there. I’m glad you all had a great time!

    Donna

    October 10, 2007 at 1:32 pm


Leave a Reply

