blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

What I Like About You

I was sitting here trying to decide what to write about tonight, and nothing specific is on my mind. Eventually, I’m going to write what I think about the president of Iran’s visit to the US, but tonight, with my not being in tip top shape, it would just drain me of energy, and I want to feel good.

So in that regard, I’m going to let my regular readers know what I like about them. I’m not exactly sure who all comes to my blog, but I know that I have some who read regularly… some comment, some don’t. If I don’t mention you by name or initial, it’s not that I don’t have anything that I like about you, it’s just that I didnt’ know or have forgotten that you read my blog. Sorry.

I’m turning off the comments on this post, because I don’t want any one thinking that I’m wanting anyone to “stroke me” back. I just want to do something that I think isn’t done enough (at least I don’t do it enough)… letting my friends who I love and care for know how I feel and why. The reasons are by no means exhaustive, but just the highlights that stick out in my mind/my heart, depending on, of course, how well I know you.

And these are in alphabetical order of your posting name so no one will think it’s a “ranked” list. 🙂

• Cara:
Your rapier wit often has me laughing out loud and “wishing I’d thought of that!” Unfortunately, your sense of humor is about all I know about you, so I hope to be able to spend more time with you to see what’s beyond the laughter.

• Carmen:
I like how positive you are everytime I’ve been around you. I can tell that you have strong opinions about things, even at your tender age, and I like that. I enjoy how you express yourself in your blog. I get a kick out of how much your boxers mean to you. You and Luis have a lot of love to give, and if kids are ever part of the picture for you, they will be very fortunate children.

• Clay:
What a testimony to being a loving husband you are. I know that you and C. have been through the ringer in the past few years, but the ways you have stood by and with her during what I’m sure are hellish times have truly been insprirational. And the way your work never seems to take a hit, even during the worst of your personal stuff, is absolutely amazing. You are such a talented man in so many ways. I count it a privilege to have worked with you and to call you a friend.

• Dianne:
It’s been over two years since we first met, and ever since then, our friendship has done nothing but expand and deepen. I consider you one of my dearest friends and look forward to so many more wonderful times shared together. Your sense of humor and intelligence are a constant source of enjoyment and good conversation for me. Your talent challenges me to be a better designer. Your being a shoulder to cry upon has been a source of strength and support for me this past year like no one else has been. And your willingness to share your social circle and include me in it has made Atlanta feel more like home than just a place I’m stuck in. I don’t think I could ask for a better friend.

• Donna:
I hardly know ye, but I like ye already! Your ability to take all the smack talk at the game and give just as good as you got with deadly accurate, sassy remarks was a thing of beauty! 🙂 I’m so impressed with your talent for expressing your feelings in writing as you did on your first blog post. That ability speaks of someone who observes life and feels it deeply, not just letting it go by unnoticed and unappreciated, and I really like that. I look forward to getting to know you better.

• Eric:
What a treasure you are! It might be difficult for you to understand the whys and wherefores, but I don’t have many close male friends… and have never really cared to cultivate that outside work. To find someone like you who is fun and kind and into photography and Apple and socializing and so many other things, well, it’s just been great! You are one of the most helpful people I’ve ever met, and your involvement in so many good causes is really an inspiration. I look forward to cultivating our relationship, as it is somewhat new territory for me.

• K S:
I know you never comment, but read somewhat regularly. I like how genuinely friendly you’ve always been to me. I’ve never seen you in a bad mood, nor speaking a harsh word to anyone, even in the midst of tough deadlines that drove us all to distraction! I miss hanging out with you and the gang at Mexicali!

• MM:
You know I think you’re one of the most intelligent people I’ve ever met. And even though we’re at opposite ends of the introvert/extrovert spectrum, I still think we managed to get along quite swimmingly, and have some really good conversations in the process! I enjoy your blog, and especially your photography. It’s nice to see the world the way you do.

• Ru’s Mom:
Your fun nature and generosity are proving time and again to be a joy to be around. You always bring a smile and a sense of adventure into everything I’ve experienced with you. Your musings about life on the farm and at the cabin cause me to be envious of that aspect of your life, and I appreciate your sharing it with us… if for no other reason than to remind this country girl that there are places where people still live that aren’t covered in concrete and where the stars can still easily be seen. Your desire to incorporate your faith into your life choices reminds me, too, that I’m not an island and that I need community too.

• Steph:
I know that you and I have never really been close, but knowing some of your past struggles and some of your brave choices have made me wish I knew you better. I have always thought you were very bright and a leader among your peers at work. You have made and continue to make a real difference there.

• ValitaLynn:
Girl, I miss you! Of all the people with a strong faith, you are the only one I ever felt totally accepts me for who I am, through and through. I love all your little sayings and ways of trying to talk like a vicious street thug when you are so totally a Valley Girl. 🙂 i love how you keep up with me, even when I’m less than good about keeping up with what’s going on with you. You are a good and faithful friend.

• Wenzday:
I miss you so much! I miss talking with you on breaks and laughing about everything and nothing. I miss our Perfect Club meetings. I enjoy seeing your photography and watching the girls grow up via the lens of your camera. Your loving mother touch and/or your twisted sense of humor comes through in every photo.

There are probably others who read regularly of whom I’m unaware, and of whom I’d have good things to say, but I can’t think of anyone else.

Anyway, there it is. Love y’all!!

Written by blogicalinks

October 2, 2007 at 10:41 pm

Posted in Sharing

