blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

First Match

with 5 comments

images6.jpgWell, it didn’t go like I’d hoped, but at least I didn’t make a fool of myself. My partner and I lost our first match together 6-3, 6-4. I don’t mean to take away from the other team, but we gave away several points with bad shots. We both said that neither of us played our “A” game.

I don’t mind losing when I’m beaten because the other person/team is better, but when I bring about my own defeat, it frustrates the heck out of me!! I made some good shots, and so did my partner, but we were both inconsistent. The other team was much more consistent.

This had nothing to do with the loss, but it was also VERY hot our there. We started playing around 2:00, and like yesterday, the sun was just relentless! (Carmen, imagine how hot it was in the sun on Saturday, and then add running all over a court to that. 🙂 As out of shape as I am cardiovascularly, I was pleased that even at the end of the match I was able to keep my feet moving. Once you start going flat-footed, it’s difficult to bounce back.

Our team was the host team today, so we brought food, drinks, and snacks for everyone. After my game, I was really hungry (didn’t eat lunch), and someone had brought a container of half sandwiches. When I lifted the lid, I saw that each one had either a little white or yellow glop/smear on the top of the bread. Instantly, I realized this was to indicate whether there was mustard or mayonnaise inside the sandwich!! What a clever idea!! In all my years, I’ve never seen sandwiches presented like that. It makes so much sense, since it prevents the person getting the sandwich from having to touch it and open it to see what spread is in it. (Personally, I’ll eat either, but it’s still a neat little idea.)

So anyway, I’m very tired right now. Working yesterday in the sun, staying up late to watch the game (oh, and then having to go down 75 and back up 85 to get home from the west side of town added extra time to the trip home), playing tennis in the sun, playing with the dogs… ugh, I’m tired, need a shower, and have a headache.

But you know what? It was a great weekend!! 🙂

Written by blogicalinks

September 30, 2007 at 10:42 pm

Posted in Sharing

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes indeedy – it was a great weekend. And it sounds like you made the most of it. I don’t think you could pack much more into it!

    Eric

    October 1, 2007 at 5:44 am

  2. Sounds like a great weekend!! 🙂

    Simba

    October 1, 2007 at 10:16 am

  3. Sorry for your match loss, but sounds like it was a great weekend! I would say I can’t believe you ran around in the sun the day after Habitat, but I did the same with our scavenger hunt! LOL!

    Carmen

    October 1, 2007 at 11:00 am

  4. It’s your first match in a long time.
    Don’t be so hard on yourself.

    Ru's Mom

    October 1, 2007 at 5:50 pm

  5. I get mad at stupid mistakes too as some of you witnessed at Saturday night’s football game. I am just as hard on myself. As I get older my body just doesn’t want to do what I want it to anymore so I just have to remind myself I’m out there at all! Enjoy it till ya lose it!

    Donna

    October 2, 2007 at 4:48 pm


Leave a Reply

