blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Habits and Quirks

with 11 comments

medtees-ocd.jpgI’ve really got nothing of interest to write about, but this crossed my mind last night, so, of course, it becomes blog fodder. πŸ™‚

What are some habits or quirks of yours that, if viewed from an objective observer, might appear to be a bit on the obsessive-compulsive side, or at the least, a quirk? Here are some of mine:

β€’ When I approach a set of upward stairs, I almost always have to start ascending with my left foot. Descents don’t seem to matter.
β€’ I dry off in the shower the exact same way every time. If I get out of order due to an interruption, it feels like I’m still wet!
β€’ On the first reading of a new book, I try to read at least as many pages as I am years old. (I read that somewhere as a kid and have been doing it ever since.)
β€’ Even though it doesn’t bother me as much as it did as a kid, I still don’t like for my foods to touch one another on my plate. And sometimes, I still eat the foods separately…the peas, then the meat, then the bread, etc.
β€’ When I’m visiting my folks and washing dishes for my mom, I have to clean them in a certain order… glasses first, then utensils, small dishes to larger, etc.
β€’ My paper money in my wallet is arranged from left to right, smallest to largest, all turned the same way, and portraits oriented properly.

Dang, I’d better stop listing things (and I really can’t think of any more anyway), or y’all will be trying to medicate me! πŸ™‚

Okay, so spill your secret quirks. Go on… πŸ™‚

Written by blogicalinks

September 28, 2007 at 11:43 am

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My most obsessive quirk is my chewing method. I must start eating on my right side and always finish my last bite on the left. It’s a balance thing.

    It’s not something anyone ever notices, but when I tell them about it, most people have questions. Like “what if you were give one m&m?” Normally, I ask for another. I usually get the “oh have as many as you want!” but I will only grab one more or if I grab a few more, it will all add up to an even number. When I come to the end and I *still* only have one morsel left, I’ll spread it out and chew it on both sides. Yes, it’s weird. πŸ˜›

    There are not many others that I’m really compulsive about. I did the eating foods separately thing too, but I worked on it and I don’t do it as much now. You’re not so bad! As long as it doesn’t affect your life in a negative way, it’s not a problem.

    Carmen

    September 28, 2007 at 5:23 pm

  2. And, btw, yes the image does bother me. If they were all scattered or all orderly, I wouldn’t have a problem with it. It’s just that one that’s killing me.

    Carmen

    September 28, 2007 at 5:25 pm

  3. NONE of the above.
    Nothing like that.
    I don’t think I have any. I can’t think of any anyway.
    The best I can do is TRY to put my keys in the same place so I can find them. I’m awfully proud of that πŸ™‚
    I’m going to try it with my reading glasses next πŸ˜€

    Ru's Mom

    September 28, 2007 at 8:28 pm

  4. PS – You really are scaring me a little bit.

    Ru's Mom

    September 28, 2007 at 8:28 pm

  5. Yeah, I’m a victim of the food on the plate thing, too. I don’t want my food to touch, I usually eat one thing at a time until it’s gone, and I tend to spin my plat around as I get to each item. I also keep my money organized the same way (though it’s in my pocket, not my wallet). I think that goes back to my training as a cashier, and was told to always have the money oriented the same way, so that you reduced the risk of mixing bills in the cash drawer. And I keep my keys and phone in the same place. In my wallet, I keep all of my cards in th same way, except for my debit card – it goes in upside down. But this is a function of swiping it through the card reader at the gas pump or u-scan (and holding it by the bottom of the card).

    Eric

    September 28, 2007 at 10:43 pm

  6. I almost always finish the food on my plate I like the least first so I can look forward to eating the thing I like the best last. I’m sure this is a habit thrown back from childhood where we could not leave the table until we ate everything on our plates. The number one habit I have that annoys everyone I know is that I am very fidgety. I shake my legs and twiddle my fingers. It is very hard for me to sit still. Often on work calls (I work at home) I pace around my house while I talk. Over the years I’ve worked hard to try to catch the twiddling when I notice it so I can make it stop. Also I try to watch my caffeine levels and often just drink de-caf beverages.

    Donna

    September 29, 2007 at 2:51 pm

  7. I tend to eat what I like least first to get it out of the way. OR, I’ll eat the thing that I think is most heathly first in case I can’t finish everything on the plate. Then I will have at least had the most of the nutritious thing. These are more logic than compulsive with me because I really don’t care and I don’t get upset if it gets out of order.

    As for all my stuff, there is not much order to it. My money is pretty much in a wad in my pocket, I don’t own a wallet, my keys are usually in the pocket of my pants, but which pants is anyone’s guess. I have reading glasses in every room so I don’t have to remember where I put them. My clean clothes usually stay in the laundry basket until I’m ready to wear them and the dirty ones go on the floor in the hall – unless they venture out into my bedroom. I don’t sort them when I wash them either. I throw everything in the machine together and wash it all on cold in case anything feels like bleeding on something else.

    I only care if my food touches if it’s going to taste funny together – like green beans and mashed potatoes are not a good combo to me. Otherwise, I don’t care and sometimes I’m likely to mix it myself. I usually stir up beans and rice into one concoction and if there is meat, I will sometimes mix that with something else on the plate too. But sometimes I don’t. There is not much of a pattern to it.

    The image doesn’t bother me at all. I like the one being a little lopsided so it’s not too perfect. Having one at an angle gives it a little more visual interest and some funkiness.

    I guess if there is an opposite extreme of OCD, then I’m that. It creates the general state of chaos in my house. And I’m okay with chaos. πŸ™‚

    Simba

    September 29, 2007 at 8:24 pm

  8. Re Donna’s comment – Okay. I sway.
    I didn’t notice until it was pointed out to me. And, yes, I sway almost all the time I’m standing.

    Re Simba’s comment – Okay. We may be twins.

    But, the comments did remind me of one OCD type problem. Someone (“helping out” at the cabin, washed kitchen towels with bath towels – and it totally grossed me out. I bounced it off a couple of people and I learned that I’m the only one that would have a problem with it.

    So, I DO sort laundry – and am rather particular about it.

    Ru's Mom

    September 30, 2007 at 11:36 pm


Leave a Reply

