blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Growing Tired of the Possum Factor

with 3 comments

images4.jpgOkay, so notice the time stamp on this post. As I begin to write this, it’s 1:40am. I was sitting here watching “The Golden Girls,” and I hear Maggie barking. I go to the window to quietly tell her to shush. As I’m standing there making sure she doesn’t continue, I hear Scout sort of whimpering and what sounds like someone noisily trying to climb my privacy fence! I’m figuring that Scout is probably tearing up something (my fear, a cat) that is trying to climb the fence to get out of the yard and away from him.

So I run (as fast I can, being so sore from tennis) down the steps, grab the flashlight, and run onto the back porch. I had flipped the porch light on, so it kept me from being able to see very far into the yard. I called Maggie and Scout to come to me, and Maggie came immediately… nothing from Scout. I flip the porch light off and shine the flashlight into the yard. There sits Scout, totally ignoring my calls, and looking up toward the back of the yard.

I shone the light around the yard, but didn’t see what he was looking at. I got off the porch and into the yard and walked over to him, and then was suddenly afraid that it might be an intruder on the other side of the fence, crouching and keeping quiet, to see what I would do next. Then I saw a movement out of the corner of my eye. I turned the light to the movement, and there was a huge possum, perched nonchalantly on the top of the fence. I made Scout stay so that he wouldn’t hurt himself jumping up onto the fence again.

I picked up some pinecones and threw at the possum, not wanting to get too close. One out of five hit it, and it hissed at me. I realized that I needed to get it off the fence, despite its reluctance to leave; otherwise, Scout would be stalking it all night, and probably killing it, and Maggie would probably continue to bark.

I tried to think of a tool I could use to push it off the fence…shovel, hoe, something! Well, stupid me sold all of my tools when I moved from B’ham, so I had nothing! Then I remembered there were some extra tomato plant frames in the corner of the yard. I sized one up, realizing there would only be about 2.5 feet between me and an angry possum. I suddenly felt very vulnerable in my shorts, t-shirt, and flipflops.

So I take a deep breath and shine the light right in its eyes, hoping that if it comes after me, it would be a bit blind. I get close, and it doesn’t move, and finally, I give it a little poke (and not the Facebook kind :), hoping that it would jump. It didn’t, of course. So I gave it a hard nudge, and pushed it off onto the other side. I heard it thunk, and I’m hoping that it was okay. I didn’t hear it move, but I’m pretty sure it was “playing possum” and just being still.

Scout resumed his vigil. Maggie just wanted to be petted. I took up the dog food bowls and brought them into the house, hoping that lack of food might keep these critters out of the killing zone. Thing is, I was hoping they were coming in UNDER the fence, so that my additional rigging would keep them out. If they’re parachuting into the yard from the top of the fence, then heaven help them!

Written by blogicalinks

September 27, 2007 at 2:01 am

Posted in Sharing, Venting

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I feel your pain. That story is hilarious though 🙂 Sounds like Maggie is just trying to keep you active! I used to have a beagle that would eat road kill on walks. After Thanksgiving was the worst time because so much turkey trash always made it into the streets. While folks were enjoying their traditional next day sandwich I could be seen from everyone’s window’s wrestling carcass’s away from the dog. Beagles are a little dim witted and she could not see that the trash could hurt her. She was a real bone-head (ouch sorry for the joke).

    Donna

    September 27, 2007 at 9:21 am

  2. Those things are so mean! I can’t wait to tell you my story when we see each other this weekend. I really don’t want to type it out on the internet.

    Make sure Scout is up to date on rabies shots – those nasty things carry it.

    Carmen

    September 27, 2007 at 11:36 am

  3. LOL! Donna, I can just see you wrestling your dog for a turkey carcass!

    Simba

    September 29, 2007 at 8:28 pm


Leave a Reply

