blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Surprise Contact

with 6 comments

Yesterday, I received a MySpace message from someone with a woman’s name (initials VNM, for privacy’s sake). Normally, I would have thought it was some SPAM that managed to get through, but the subject line was “Are you originally from Tallassee?” The message was short and was inquiring as to whether I grew up in Tallassee. There was no indication of who this person was nor why/how they found me.

Tallassee, AL is my hometown, so I figured that whoever this person was had some sort of connection to me that way. The photo on the MySpace page was of a very attractive woman, and I clicked on the profile bio to see what it said before I responded. It was a fairly long bio, and in it, I discovered that this person grew up in Tallassee and then left after high school to go to New York, where she lives today…as a transexual. (Male in Tallassee, female now) The age on the profile was also listed as 35, so I thought this might be someone who knew me through their older sibling in school or something.

So anyway, I tried to figure out the male name that might have been anagramed into the female name. Nothing rang a bell. So I wrote back and confirmed that I was from Tallassee, and I asked how she might know me, since we were so far apart in school.

She wrote back and said that actually, we are the same age… that the birthdate she uses online is the date when she first appeared in full drag in Montgomery!! We were classmates in grades 1-12!! I took a look back at the photos, and suddenly, it was very clear that this beautiful woman was the person I knew as TW in school and was in band with me for six years!!

Now I’d always had the idea in high school that TW was probably gay, but I had no idea about the transsexual aspect of it. Of course, why would I unless he/she chose to share it. It’s not like I was hanging out in gay bars and going to drag shows during high school! (As a matter of fact, I’ve never been to a drag show. I think I’d like to go sometime, just for the experience.) And since TW left Tallassee right after high school, legally changed his name to her name, and never went back, needless to say, we’ve lost touch! But through the miracle of the internet, he found me and took the chance to write.

That was all found out last night before I went to play tennis, and I haven’t had a chance to ask more questions and tell her what’s going on with me too, so I have lots of catching up to do. What I do know is that she has been with her partner for over 22 years, which is pretty cool. I don’t know if they are legally married or not, if she is a full woman or not, and I won’t ask that. I’ll let her tell me what she wants. What I’d like to know more about is how it feels to grow up in a small, southern, rural, VERY conservative town like Tallassee knowing that you’re THAT different. I’m sure we’ll have some stories to tell to one another about how each of us experienced that “otherness” in our different ways.

Written by blogicalinks

September 26, 2007 at 7:41 pm

Posted in Sharing

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How neat is that! If you need a traveling companion when you go up for a visit in NYC, just let me know 🙂

    Ru's Mom

    September 26, 2007 at 8:57 pm

  2. Cool! I’m sure you two will have interesting stories to catch up with each other. I’m not one for clubs anymore, but I’d go with you if you ever want to see a drag show. I’ve only been to them in Valdosta. I’m sure it’s much more put-together here in Atlanta and being 7 years later.

    I had an online friend during college that lived in Florida and told me one day that he was going to start the process of becoming a woman. He was so distraught because most of his friends were cutting him off when he came out with the news, including his girlfriend that he had recently proposed to. He got so busy and we lost touch. I still think of him and look for him frequently, but to no avail since I don’t know his (most likely “her” by now) new name. 😦

    Carmen

    September 26, 2007 at 9:34 pm

  3. Yes, I’m sure it came as quite a shock that the man you dated for years and wanted to spend the rest of your life with has told you that he has always always felt out of place in a man’s body. If anyone, I didn’t blame her for leaving him. I’m sure it felt like a betrayal. So sad. I hope he is in a happier place now. And his ex too.

    Carmen

    September 27, 2007 at 12:16 am

  4. What a trip!

    Simba

    September 29, 2007 at 8:31 pm


Leave a Reply

