blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

I Want My Mommy!

with 6 comments

I admit it, when it comes to visiting the dentist, I become a nervous wreck!! I had very bad experiences as a child with a less-than-kind dentist, who drilled on my teeth with no novacaine (ask my mother if you don’t believe me), and it’s scarred me for life. Yes, I’ve been many times as an adult, but have never kept up the regular six-month visits like I should. I brush my teeth like I should, of course, but I don’t floss regularly. I like Ellen DeGeneres’s comments about flossing: “I floss religiously…. every Christmas and Easter.” 🙂

And unfortunately, I inherited the “weak” teeth from both sides of my family. They have a tendency to break, chip, split, be soft, etc. In addition, I grew up using/drinking well water, so I didn’t have any of the benefits of fluoride until I was in college. I SO admire people with strong, healthy teeth. It’s one of the things I notice first about someone.

So anyway, I realized last Thursday that I have a cavity. Since my dental insurance runs out at the end of this month, I’m getting this taken care of tomorrow. I know insurance won’t cover the nitrous oxide, but I don’t care!! Give me gas, lots and lots of gas!! It not only keeps me relaxed enough that I don’t bolt, it’s also groovy, baby, grooooovy.

Be thinking of me tomorrow at 12:45. Only the force of my will, the effects of the nitrous oxide, and your good thoughts will be keeping this sweaty bundle of nerves in the dental chair!

Thoughts y’all want to share about dentists? You have the floor.

Written by blogicalinks

September 25, 2007 at 2:41 pm

Posted in Sharing

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aaack! I hate dentists too. They warn the entire office when I’m coming in.

    Simba

    September 25, 2007 at 6:21 pm

  2. Ditto here, too. But I was lucky enough a few years ago to stumble across a very good dentist (about a half-dozen of my Hill-Rom coworkers were patients of hers, and they all suggested I go to her). I’ve only had 1 less-than-desirable experience, and that was with a temporary hygienist who was filling in while my regular was on maternity leave.

    Eric

    September 25, 2007 at 10:09 pm

  3. Randy is a dentist – but he doesn’t see me. He took on a new patient from church on Saturday – and that made me a bit sad. I had the no-novacaine experience too so I’m a white knuckler. A good patient with everything but the sound of the drill. Good luck tomorrow!

    Ru's Mom

    September 25, 2007 at 10:47 pm

  4. Hey I didn’t know you had a blog! Yikes! My thoughts are with you for sure. I have a dislike of the dentist as well. I had 12 teeth pulled at one time when I was a kid. My mouth, contrary to what some people believe, is freakishly small so the dentist had to remove a combination of baby teeth and the adult teeth below them all at once!

    Donna

    September 26, 2007 at 9:53 am

  5. I hope you’re doing well right now!!! Hang in there and let us know how it went when you get a chance. Dentists are scary!

    Carmen

    September 26, 2007 at 12:42 pm

  6. Floss, floss, floss, floss, floss!

    Do you need a Flossing Buddy Check? 😀

    Ru's Mom

    September 26, 2007 at 5:35 pm


Leave a Reply

