blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Tooters

with 8 comments

I was at the liquor store with Mary on Saturday, since apparently, vodka is cheaper in GA than in AL. While I was waiting on her to stock up, I was just lollygagging at the front, and saw these fun-looking drinks called “Tooters.”

They had peach, strawberry, lime, and watermelon flavors. I was more intrigued by the presentation of their being in test tubes than I was with wanting something to drink, so I asked the cashier (who was not busy) what they were like. I didn’t have my glasses, so I couldn’t see what the liquor in them was. She said something like, “Oh, they’re a lot of fun. I bought several different colors for my b’day party, put them in ice, and just let people pull them out and drink them. They’re really for people who are light drinkers.”

Well, “light drinker” pretty much sums me up! I nursed one Smirnoff Ice all day last Saturday, and still didn’t finish it. I don’t drink beer because of the smell, hard liquor burns my throat, and while I like most sweet wines, they often give me a headache. A margarita is about the only thing I drink with any frequency, and that is about maybe once a month at the most. So yeah, I’m a liquor lightweight. πŸ™‚

So I’m thinking the tooters would be fun to have and just turn one up and drink it every now and then. I chose the strawberry flavor, because it’s usually a safe bet for flavor. It worked for the huge Bonnie Bell lip gloss tubes, so I figured it would be okay for this as well. (Don’t ask me to explain that connection.)

Well, about halfway through the game, I remember that I’m chilling them in the fridge. I get one and Pat gets one. I take one swallow and nearly gag!! The only thing I can compare the taste to is NyQuil!!! Bleeeccchhhh!! Perhaps it’s just the harder liquor in it, but OMG, it was not at all the fruity, light taste that I expected! It was harsh and burning and not at ALL like having my tastebuds skipping merrily through a strawberry bed!

Pat didn’t care for hers either, but, being the heavier drinker, she not only finished hers, but actually had another… research… just to make sure it was as bad as she thought the first time. πŸ™‚

Eric, not surprisingly, refused my offer of one of them. I’m presuming it was probably because of the loud and disgusting reviews and the way I was scraping my tongue with a butter knife that made him think he didnt’ want one. πŸ™‚ And he was the one who figured out that “Tooters” was probably a combination of “tubes” and “shooters.” Smart man. πŸ™‚

Anyway, so now I have about 25 of these chilling in my fridge. If any of y’all want one (or all of them), let me know. They’re yours! πŸ™‚

Written by blogicalinks

September 23, 2007 at 10:23 pm

Posted in Sharing, Whatever

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cheryl Th always has them at her parties. If they are still there when she throws one, I’ll let ya know πŸ™‚

    Ru's Mom

    September 23, 2007 at 11:07 pm

  2. LOL! It’s a good thing you had Pat to do that research for you! I would recommend giving them to Cara. She can mix them with Jello and I’m sure they’ll be quite tolerable after that. Yep, Eric is smart in more ways than one. LOL!!

    Simba

    September 23, 2007 at 11:10 pm

  3. I’ve had those nasty shooters before, and I thought it was funny that the lady in the store made them sound light. She must have smelled the “liquor lightweight” all over you to sell them that way. LOL!

    My last mistake was buying a drink called Peels in Publix several months ago. http://www.enjoypeels.com/ They look cute, but they are gross. I finally read the fine print on the label after spitting some of it out. It said “flavored malt liquor.” AH! What a horrible oversight. 😦

    Carmen

    September 24, 2007 at 12:09 am

  4. “Blechh…this is terrible!!! Wanna try it?” Umm… somehow the motivation escapes me.

    Oh if only I had a dollar for every time I was lured by the thought of something sweet, dressed in a fancy package…

    Eric

    September 24, 2007 at 5:57 am

  5. Zima was an exception of malt liquor. But I say “was” because I wore it out, if ya know what I mean! I just can’t drink them anymore. πŸ˜‰

    Carmen

    September 24, 2007 at 7:41 pm


Leave a Reply

