blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Ehn! (Shoulder Shrug) and Sunday Question

with 6 comments

I was planning to write all about my weekend, but I have NOTHING in me that wants to write a lot. Perhaps I’ll spread my thoughts out over the next few days.

Sunday Question:
What’s your favorite movie quote/line, and why?

Mine:
From The Mission:
“If might makes right, then love has no place in the world… and I don’t have the strength to live in a world like that.”

Well, the reason I like it is because it pretty much sums up the whole theme of that movie. Basically, it’s about a bunch of Jesuit priests who are working with a group of isolated people in South America. In the course of their educating them and converting them, they come to really love the people.

However, these people are a source of slave labor by the Portuguese. The priests try to protect the people from slavery through diplomacy, but it doesn’t work. They are then faced with the choice of fighting to protect the people (going against their vows of non-violence) or of allowing them to be given over to slavery due to their inability to stop the Portuguese slavers.

Ooh, I just remembered another good scene…
Robert DeNiro plays a former-slaver-turned-priest who wants to fight for the people. Jeremy Irons plays the leader of the priests who is advocating non-violence. DeNiro goes to Irons to asks for his blessing before the fight. Irons replies (paraphrase), “If you are right, then you will have God’s blessing. If you are not right, then my blessing won’t mean anything.”

It is a magnificent movie and really illustrates how love is sometimes impotent in the face of cruelty, and raises the larger question of justified violence.

Excellent movie, and one of my all-time favorites!

Written by blogicalinks

September 23, 2007 at 8:16 pm

Posted in Sunday Question

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s a toss-up between –
    Evelyn Couch: Face it, girls, I’m older and I have more insurance.
    From Fried Green Tomatoes

    And,
    Well, I can’t find the quote from Shenandoah. Darn.

    Ru's Mom

    September 23, 2007 at 10:00 pm

  2. This is really from a book, but since it was made into a movie also, I’ll put it down anyway.

    “When you really love something then it loves you back in whatever way it has to love.”
    A Separate Peace

    To me, this statement means that you cannot predict or control how someone or something will love you, but if you truly love it/them then you will receive *something* in return. It may not be what you expected, but maybe that’s the best way [whatever] can love.

    The character (Finny) who said this was talking about loving winter and, while it might be funny to apply love to something that is not human or animal, you can think of it in terms of the universe spreading love in its own way. Finny loves the winter and in return, winter makes him happy.

    But, I like it as it applies to people best. If you really truly love someone, then they’ll love you back in SOME way. Maybe not at all what you expected or wanted, but it’s there in the best way they know how.

    Simba

    September 23, 2007 at 11:07 pm

  3. There’s a whole backstory to this, but from Jeremiah Johnson –
    “But I swear, a woman’s breast is the hardest rock that the Almighty ever made on this earth, and I can find no sign on it.” – Bear Claw Chris Lapp, a mountain man played by Will Geer (Grandpa Walton)

    Ru's Mom

    September 23, 2007 at 11:41 pm

  4. Daniel McMann: I love you every minute. I love you more than marching bands and cookie-making.

    This is from The Other Sister. I loved the love story between Daniel and Carla in this movie. It was so sweet when he told her that he loved her more than his obsessive favorite things. He almost seemed shocked as he was saying it. It’s amazing how much a person can mean so much more than anything to you when you fall in love. 🙂 Sappy, I know! 😛 That’s all I can think of on this Sunday night.

    Carmen

    September 23, 2007 at 11:58 pm

  5. Ferri Bueller: “A) you can never go too far, and B) if I’m gonna get busted, it’s not gonna be by a guy like THAT!”

    That was my basic high-school attitude, and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off was (and still is) one of those movies I could watch over and over, and just about voice alon the entire script.

    Eric

    September 24, 2007 at 5:52 am


Leave a Reply

