blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Oh, What the Heck

with 3 comments

help1.jpgI’m at another one of those strange places where I wonder if I’m writing this blog more for myself or for my readers/friends. And tonight is one of those times when I’m going to choose writing for me. The reason I’m even wondering is because I’m writing about employment…AGAIN! I know it must get boring to those who read regularly, but hey, as you can imagine, it’s what’s really high on my priority list right now! 🙂

Anyway, I had an interview today, and I think it went very well. I LOVED the office…so very artsy. It’s in what was an old, broken down warehouse. There were two entrances: one was by going in the front side and working my way past the other office suites in the warehouse. I took this way in because I figured it would lead me to a receptionist’s desk. (I was right.) The other way, which I saw from the parking lot, was via the loading dock, a remnant of the warehouse. Basically, the reception area opens right up onto the loading dock. And as the president told me, on nice days like this, they just leave the loading dock door open to let the fresh air and light it. So basically, it’s like hoisting a whole wall of your office out of the way and letting nature in! She also said they were shopping for patio furniture to put out on the dock for clients and employees to use when they wanted to sit outside. How cool is that?!

The inner office has eight-foot, frosted glass walls which offer privacy, but allows the light to filter throughout the space. The floor is a very smooth concrete with several area rugs throughout. The ceiling shows the exposed pipes and trusses and stuff (it also shows the insulation, but I’m betting they eventually hide that) and is very high—I’d guess 11-12 feet.

I was waiting in a conference room at first, and there were candles and rocks nicely arranged in the center of the table and on a credenza off to the side. In the president’s office, her desk was frosted glass and shaped somewhat like a fat boomerang. There were hardly right angles anywhere, and lots and lots of colors and textures and odd shapes throughout. Her office walls were a bright lime green and a bright lemon. I thought, “Wow! She is bold!” But the cool thing is that it totally worked. When I walked in the office, my first thought was “What a fun, edgy place.” (I don’t know if I’m edgy, but I’m certainly up for the fun part!)

So we talked for over an hour, and it sounds like she (the president) and her husband (the CFO) know where they want to take the business, and they know they need a senior designer who can come in and not only design, but also manage the office, meet with clients, etc. That way, she can spend more time nurturing current accounts and finding new accounts. They are currently using PCs, but are switching to Macs soon. Yay!

There’s more to tell, but it’s mostly technical, so I won’t bore y’all with it. Suffice it to say, I was impressed with them. I’m hoping the feeling was mutual enough that they’ll offer me the job. She said they would make a decision in a couple of weeks. In the meantime, I’m hoping to get some more nibbles and send more résumés.

Written by blogicalinks

September 19, 2007 at 8:28 pm

Posted in Whatever

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a snazzy place! Good luck!!!

    Carmen

    September 19, 2007 at 9:32 pm

  2. It sounds wonderful. What a difference – and how great would it be to be able to be creative in a vibrant space?
    I think the job is yours. I’m so proud of you for making the big step to leave “the other place”. A place like this would be the greatest prize of all! Good luck!

    Ru's Mom

    September 20, 2007 at 1:25 am

  3. Wow! That sounds great!! I love the “removable wall” and patio furniture part!! 🙂 I think the space alone will be a mental boost. What fun! Good luck and keep us posted – I know you will. 🙂

    Simba

    September 20, 2007 at 11:05 am


Leave a Reply

