blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

Woulda Been Nice….

with 7 comments

…if my former employer had written the job notice this way when I applied for the job. I don’t know if I’d have been so eager to get take the position!

I just checked to see if/when they had posted for my former position. This is one paragraph from a long list of qualifications from the careers section of their own site. The bolding is mine, and it indicates what they did NOT include when I applied for the job.

Must have strong, self-motivated work ethic and habits and a demonstrated ability to comple (sic) detailed, varied and simultaneous graphic design assignments…sometimes on short notice and under tight time deadlines. Must be a team player, willing to work on assignments that may not be pure graphics development in nature (e.g., assist with text inputting using MS Word, etc.). A customer-friendly personality and a demonstrated commitment to meet schedule requirements are critical. Must be willing to work overtime, sometimes on short notice, during the work week and on weekends, when required.

This is from a more general site: (careerbuilder.com)

The successful candidate, at this senior level, must be capable of performing difficult and complex graphic design assignments, on short notice, under tight deadlines, and in a dynamic environment where changes may be made up to the time of production.

Hahahaha, doesn’t it figure?! They listened to my reasons for quitting, but isn’t it typical that, instead of trying to solve the problems (and it’s not just MY opinion that they were problems), they just incorporate the problems into the job description! 🙂 Hopefully, this will help them find someone who 1) doesn’t mind not having a life outside work, 2) doesn’t mind working on complex and difficult designs, 3) only to have them changed at the last minute. And I think they should change the “sometimes” to “most of the time.

Dang it, if it had not been for that bold crap, this might have been a great job! 😡

Written by blogicalinks

September 17, 2007 at 1:35 am

Posted in Venting, Whatever

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, at least they’re being honest about it … now! Of course, this is at the expense of your sanity and mental health. Let’s just hope that the job description for your next job is as accurate as this one is today. And, in any case, you will at least know what questions to ask during your interviews!

    Eric

    September 17, 2007 at 5:40 am

  2. Wow. That’s true… at least they’re being honest now, but if I saw that job description, I would run!

    I hope you find a good job to apply to that doesn’t contain the bold stuff in this one – but because it doesn’t apply, not because they left it out!

    Carmen

    September 17, 2007 at 10:18 am

  3. Stating the problems is a good start. I’m glad they listened. We’ll see if they can get someone to take the job though. I hope an awesome job is right around the corner for you.

    Simba

    September 17, 2007 at 12:03 pm

  4. Reminds me of a contract on a house I pulled out of. I found 3 things wrong with it in the week before closing. Two days before closing, I pulled out of the contract. Then, I found the cabin.

    At the cabin closing less than a month later, the cabin’s listing agent was BRAGGING that the sellers of the place that I didn’t buy put it back on the market at 10K more. I was livid.

    Our best guess was that they upped the price so they could come down if/when the new buyers hired an inspector (as I did) and found the problems.

    IMO, despicable!

    Ru's Mom

    September 17, 2007 at 6:19 pm

  5. Now… if only girlfriends came with the “bold” print! hahahahahahahaha!

    Eric

    September 17, 2007 at 10:52 pm

  6. Wow, what kind of place did you work for? Sounds like a high-pressure, other duties as assigned, sort of place. I’d hate to think I had to work there for say 30 years. If I worked in a place like that for 30 years, I’d have no hair left and my waistline would equal my height. I hope that place pays big bucks for all that they want.

    clay

    September 18, 2007 at 9:02 am


Leave a Reply

