blogicalinks

seeking | sharing | venting | whatever…ing

A New Attitude (said with LaBelle voice)

with 5 comments

Have you ever been just going along in your life and knowing that things weren’t right, but you felt sort of “caught” between what actually is and what you want things to be? Well, that’s where I’ve been for a while now. While nothing drastic has happened, something did happen this weekend that has helped me turn some sort of corner in my outlook on the future here in ATL.

The party I had this weekend was the first big get-together I have hosted. I’ve had a few people over before, and of course, enjoyed their company, but I’ve not hosted anyone for such a long visit nor for this many people. It reminded me sooo much of the times I enjoyed most in B’ham—the fun football parties. Granted, the fan loyalties over here are more scattered among several teams, but the social aspect is as good or better.

I know this may sound weird too, but I wondered how the “flow” of the house would be… would it be comfortable and easy and able to hold a big group well? (I had a GREAT den able to hold a lot of people in my other house.) I think it’s a great house for a party, and so now, I think a BBQ party might be in order so that the porch and nice weather can be enjoyed as well. (I’ll try to make sure the dead possum smell has passed by that time. 🙂

Having a great weather day, tons of food, a day of good games (well, except for Auburn’s), and best of all, a gathering of friends who I enjoy being with… for me, it just doesn’t get much better than that! And that feeling of belonging and friendship and fun is exactly what I’ve been missing so much about B’ham.

Additionally, having all my pets with me, as well as getting away from the work environment I’ve been in (and hopefully into something better) is also going to make a huge difference in how I feel about making Atlanta my home. I’ve got several fun weekends coming up with a great group of new friends and some old ones as well. It feels so good to feel like I “belong” again. (If this doesn’t any sense to y’all… sorry. It’s hard to express what I feel about this, but I’m just so glad that it feels like an important page has turned for me.)

Now, if we can just get Auburn to looking like a football team again, things will get even better!!!

Written by blogicalinks

September 16, 2007 at 10:52 pm

Posted in Sharing

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m right there with you Cheryl. It’s been about a year since the break-up with T.E.G., and although I am on good terms with the friends I had before that relationship, things with them haven’t been the same – mainly because the friends I had the closest relationship with just don’t live in Atlanta any more. But it has been remarkable to see my new circle of friends develop and grow – Saturday (and this whole weekend) being evidence of that. I can’t help but have a nice litle goofy grin on my face thinking about how fortunate I am to be surrounded by such a great group of people.

    BTW – I’m all over a BBQ party! We’ll get that grill singing!

    Eric

    September 17, 2007 at 5:36 am

  2. I’m so glad the party went well. I wish I could say the Tech game went well. 😦 Don’t get me wrong, though, I had a great time, but they never got a grasp of the game.

    Did someone say BBQ party!? Yummmm

    Carmen

    September 17, 2007 at 10:13 am

  3. I had an AWESOME time at your party. I think the house was perfect and you really threw a heck of a party! And I’m all over that BBQ party also! 🙂 How about October 13th??

    You definitely “belong” and I hope you always feel like you do from now on. Life wouldn’t be the same without you and I hope you know that. 🙂

    Simba

    September 17, 2007 at 12:00 pm

  4. Hell, yeah. I’ve felt that way.

    BBQ party? What about October 15th?

    PS – What is a “LaBelle voice”?

    Ru's Mom

    September 17, 2007 at 6:21 pm


Leave a Reply

